How many Cats and Tipp players in line for All Stars?

In the three years Kilkenny and Tipperary have contested All-Ireland finals since 2009, they have collected an impressive 33 out of 45 All Stars.

Tipperary failed to pick up any of the individual accolades the last two seasons, while 2013 was the first time since 1996 a Kilkenny player has not received an award. It also marked 32 years since neither of the counties were represented in the honoured 15.

With the neighbours battling it out on September 7, there is certain to be a return to form for both — but just how many Kilkenny and Tipperary men are in pole positions to slots at the moment?


Alan Nolan (Dublin)

Darren Gleeson may just end up being chosen as the All Star goalkeeper but Nolan was excellent in his three outings this summer, grabbing the chance to replace Gary Maguire with both hands.

Goalkeeper nominations: Darren Gleeson (Tipperary); Stephen O’Keeffe (Waterford).


Seamus Hickey (Limerick)

Next to Henry Shefflin’s comeback, Hickey’s return from a cruciate injury is the most emphatic seen in hurling. He dominated his corner and even at this stage he is a cert for an award.

Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)

Before lasy Sunday, it was Alan Cadogan but now Barrett is the top candidate for young hurler of the year. Has belied his young years and inexperience to put a number of star forwards to the sword.

Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny)

The best of the Kilkenny full-back line this Championship. It’s difficult to believe, given how authoritative the James Stephens’ man has been these past few months, he was struggling for a starting spot earlier in the year.

Full-back nominations: JJ Delaney (Kilkenny); Richie McCarthy (Limerick); Stephen McDonnell (Cork); Paul Murphy (Kilkenny); Shane O’Neill (Cork); Paddy Stapleton (Tipperary).


Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny)

Not a player who makes much fuss but an extremely effective one and wasn’t found wanting in any of Kilkenny’s games this season. Has started all five games.

Mark Ellis (Cork)

One of two or three who could hold their heads up last Sunday, Ellis has been so good he has the No 6 jersey nailed down as long as he wants. His contributions are marginally better than Brian Hogan’s.

Pádraic Maher (Tipperary)

Supreme against Cork last Sunday, the only blip for Maher has been his small spell at full-back against Galway when Jonathan Glynn took him for two goals. His importance to Tipperary can never be understated.

Half-back nominations: Kieran Bergin (Tipperary); Brian Hogan (Kilkenny); Brendan Maher (Tipperary); Eoin Moore (Wexford); Lorcan McLoughlin (Cork), Wayne McNamara (Limerick).


Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)

No surprise the Danesfort man is the favourite for the hurler of the year. It’s his consistency that stands him apart from everyone else. Few have sharper hurling minds.

Paul Browne (Limerick)

The strength of this man’s displays were integral to Limerick’s solid summer yet only trump those of his midfield partner James Ryan by a small margin.

Midfield nominations: Lee Chin (Wexford); Daniel Kearney (Cork); James Ryan (Limerick); James Woodlock (Tipperary).


Conor Lehane (Cork)

The only forward who continued to take it to Tipperary six days ago. Lehane enjoyed his Munster final day and next to Pat Horgan was their best forward in the replay win over Waterford.

Colin Fennelly (Kilkenny)

When people speak of new leaders in the Kilkenny team, Fennelly’s name is mentioned in the same breath. He had traded on pace but has added so much more to his game.

John O’Dwyer (Tipperary)

Six points from play against Cork is never to be sniffed at. He also posted three wides but taking scores has been the story of Bubbles’ Championship. Seamus Callanan has been more explosive but O’Dwyer is their most consistent attacker.

Half-forward nominations: David Breen (Limerick); Conor Cooney (Galway); Declan Hannon (Limerick); Seamus Harnedy (Cork); Patrick “Bonner” Maher (Tipperary); Liam Óg McGovern (Wexford).


TJ Reid (Kilkenny)

Limerick made a point of targeting him for extra attention in the semi-final, which was a backhanded tribute to just how fine Reid’s form has been in 2014.

Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)

If Richie Hogan is Kilkenny’s leading candidate for hurler of the year, then Callanan is Tipperary’s best followed by Pádraic Maher. Shane Dowling (Limerick)

Like Callanan, Dowling has shown exemplary leadership qualities this year. When it came to beating Tipperary and Wexford, he was at the forefront. Didn’t do himself an injustice going down to Kilkenny either.

Full-forward nominations: Alan Cadogan (Cork); Pat Horgan (Cork); Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny); Conor McDonald (Wexford); Conor McGrath (Clare); Graeme Mulcahy (Limerick).


All Stars: Kilkenny 5; Tipperary 4; Limerick 3; Cork 2; Dublin 1.

All Star nominations: Tipperary 10; Kilkenny, Cork , Limerick 9 each; Wexford 4; Dublin, Clare, Galway, Waterford 1 each.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.