Slick Kanturk secure U21 crown

Duhallow U21 AHC final:

Slick Kanturk secure U21 crown

At key stages, the victors allowed their hurling do the talking, and their speed and first touch put the Newmarket and Lismire combination on the back foot. Indeed Kanturk had more of a cutting edge in attack, translating third-quarter dominance into scores with a productive flourish that yielded 1-7 without reply to put daylight between the sides.

The exchanges were nip and tuck early on, Emmets, seeking a first-time triumph, shaded the issue before Kanturk availed of points to Liam O’Keeffe and Ian Walsh to lead 0-9 to 0-7 at the break.

It didn’t take Kanturk long to hit back on the restart though, Cian Clernon’s goal driving them ahead.

Emmets regrouped and sub Donal Hannon netted to offer faint hopes of a recovery. Kanturk’s response was immediate, Walsh broke through for a crisply taken goal.

Credit Emmets, they fought bravely to the finish rewarded on a consolation goal to Paudie Allen that failed to halt a stronger Kanturk from claiming their 11th outright title.

Scorers for Kanturk: I Walsh (1-6, 0-3f), D Kenneally (0-6), L O’Keeffe (0-4), C Clernon (1-0), J Fitzpatrick 0-2, J Casey and A O’Keeffe (0-1 each).

Scorers for Robert Emmets: G Forde (0-4f), D Hannon, P Allen (1-0 each), M Cottrell 0-2, D O’Sullivan (f), B O’Connor, M McSweeney and T Ryan 0-1 each.

KANTURK: M Hartnett; P Walsh, M Healy, J Carver; S Walsh, J Browne, A O’Keeffe; D Browne, C Boyce; R O’Brien, D Kenneally, J Fitzpatrick; L O’Keeffe, I Walsh, J Casey.

Subs: C Clernon for S Walsh (inj), D Geaney for Casey, D O’Sullivan for A O’Keeffe.

ROBERT EMMETS: D Kearney; J Guiney, P Allen, C Noonan; S McSweeney, J Hayes, A Ryan; G Forde, C O’Keeffe; J O’Flaherty, M Cottrell, D Enright; D O’Sullivan, B O’Connor, M McSweeney.

Subs: T Ryan for Enright. D Hannon for O’Flaherty, B Lane for Guiney.

Referee: C Lane (Banteer).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up