Crowley spot on for Kenmare

Kenmare District 3-11 St Kieran’s 2-12

Shades of the SFC final of ’87 when Kenmare, with Pat Spillane a key figure, snatched victory with a late injury-time goal against Dr Crokes.

At the Fitzgerald Stadium last night, it was Spillane’s young Kenmare District side that snatched a 63rd-minute winning goal, from a Brian Crowley penalty, that broke St Kieran’s hearts.

It was a remarkable game, the sides level at half-time 2-5 apiece, with

Brian Crowley missing a penalty and scoring two goals, one from play and the other from a second penalty.

Mike Finnegan and Gearóid McCarthy had goals for St Kieran’s, who appeared to take a firm grip on proceedings early in the second-half, with Kerry Junior captain Thomas Hickey kicking three points and Shane O’Connor with two points, as they moved 2-12 to 2-8 clear.

However, with Cian Hallissey unerring from frees and St Kieran’s losing one player to a black card and Eoin Murphy to a red, the pendulum swung to Spillane’s side and points from Pat Spillane, Gavin Crowley and Cian Hallissey just left a point between the sides.

Then Brian Clifford was fouled deep in injury-time and Brian Crowley, who could have tapped it over to earn his side a replay, went for broke. That decision paid a handsome dividend.

Scorers for Kenmare District: B Crowley 3-0 (2 pens), C Hallissey 0-7 (5f), G Crowley, F O Sullivan, P Spillane and D O’Neill 0-1 each

Scorers for St Kieran’s: G McCarthy 1-3 (0-3f), M Finnegan 1-1, T Hickey 0-4 (1f), S O Connor 0-3, T Finnegan 0-1.

KENMARE DISTRICT: K Fitzgibbon (Kenmare); J M Foley (Kilgarvan), J Spillane (Templenoe), A Quinlan (Kenmare); D O’Shea (Kenmare), G Crowley (Templenoe), D Hawker (Tousist); C Hallissey (Templenoe), J Holland (Templenoe); F O’Sullivan (Kenmare) , B Crowley (Templenoe), P Spillane (Templenoe); D O’Neill (Templenoe), K O’Sullivan (Kenmare), J Rice (Templenoe).

Subs: P Clifford (Templenoe) for A Quinlan, C O’Sullivan for J Holland (h/t), B Clifford (Kenmare) for J M Foley (40).

ST KIERAN’S: C Kiely (Brosna); S Fitzmaurice (Brosna), M Lynch (Desmonds), G O’Connor (Currow); J O’Connor (Cordal), M Walsh (Knocknagoshel), C Sheehan (Knocknagoshel); C O’Connor (Desmonds), G McCarthy (Desmonds); A Barry (Brosna), S O’Connor (Desmonds), T Lynch (Desmonds); T Finnegan (Brosna), T Hickey (Desmonds), M Finnegan (Brosna).

Subs: G Downey (Knocknagoshel) for G O’Connor (20), E Murphy (Desmonds) for C Sheehan (50), V Horan (Ballymac) for S O Connor (54, B/C), L Lyons (Desmonds) for G McCarthy (56)

Referee: T Ahern (Listry).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd