Corbett starts for Tipperary

Tipperary hurler Lar Corbett will make his first competitive start of the 2014 season in tomorrow evening’s do-or-die qualifier joust with Galway (throw-in 7pm).

Corbett starts for Tipperary

Corbett did not feature during the league campaign and was only introduced as a substitute entering the final quarter of Tipperary’s Munster semi-final defeat to Limerick. The 2010 Hurler of the Year is selected at left corner-forward, replacing Niall O’Meara.

Ronan Maher has been handed his championship debut and will line out at midfield, partnering the recalled James Woodlock.

Malachy O’Rourke has made two changes to the Monaghan team which drew with Armagh last Saturday for tomorrow’s replay fixture. Chris McGuinness and Paudie McKenna are selected at centre and right half-forward, with Padraig Donaghy and Jack McCarron dropping to the bench.

Elsewhere, Kilkenny hurler Michael Fennelly will play no part in Sunday’s Leinster hurling final, a source close to the camp last night revealed.

It had been reported that Fennelly took part in training on Monday night, but the Ballyhale Shamrocks player did not participate in Wednesday’s session. Fennelly injured his back on the Friday evening before the county’s drawn Leinster semi-final clash against Galway and did not tog out for last weekend’s replay.

Meanwhile, three black cards issued in recent Ulster championship games were rescinded at a meeting of the Central Hearings Committee on Wednesday night. Tyrone attacker Darren McCurry, along with Monaghan dup Darren Hughes and Conor McManus, are the players in question. A player accumulating three black cards in a given season receives a one-match suspension.

MONAGHAN (Ulster SFC v Armagh): R Beggan; K Duffy, D Wylie, C Walshe; D Mone, V Corey, F Kelly; D Clerkin, D Hughes; R Wylie, C McGuinness, P McKenna; D Malone, K Hughes, C McManus.

TIPPERARY (All-Ireland SHC qualifier v Galway): D Gleeson; C Barrett, P Maher, M Cahill; J Barry, C O’Mahony, B Maher; R Maher, J Woodlock; G Ryan, P Maher, J O’Dwyer; N McGrath, S Callanan, L Corbett.

LIMERICK (All-Ireland SFC qualifier v Antrim): B Scanlon; S O’Dea, J McCarthy, M O’Riordan; I Corbett, P Browne, P Ranahan; T Lee, J Galvin; D Treacy, G Collins, S Buckley; D Neville, K Phair, I Ryan.

LAOIS (All-Ireland SFC qualifier v Wexford): G Brody; P McMahon, D Booth, P O’Leary; R Kehoe, P Begley, C Begley; K Meaney, J O’Loughlin; C Meredith, B Sheehan, S Attride; R Munnelly, D Kingston, N Donoher.

Cork lose Meaney

The Cork minor footballers were forced into a late change for Sunday’s Munster final with Kerry after Daniel Meaney (St Michael’s) was forced out with a serious leg injury. John Mullins (Éire Óg) will start at right half-back, while David O’Neill (Mayfield) is among the substitutes.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: TipperaryPerson: CorbettPerson: Lar CorbettPerson: Niall O’MearaPerson: Ronan MaherPerson: James WoodlockPerson: Malachy O’RourkePerson: Chris McGuinnessPerson: Paudie McKennaPerson: Padraig DonaghyPerson: Jack McCarronPerson: Michael FennellyPerson: FennellyPerson: Darren McCurryPerson: MonaghanPerson: Darren HughesPerson: Conor McManusPerson: R BegganPerson: K DuffyPerson: D WyliePerson: C WalshePerson: D MonePerson: V CoreyPerson: F KellyPerson: D ClerkinPerson: D HughesPerson: R WyliePerson: C McGuinnessPerson: P McKennaPerson: D MalonePerson: K HughesPerson: C McManusPerson: D GleesonPerson: C BarrettPerson: P MaherPerson: M CahillPerson: J BarryPerson: C O’MahonyPerson: B MaherPerson: R MaherPerson: J WoodlockPerson: G RyanPerson: J O’DwyerPerson: N McGrathPerson: S CallananPerson: L CorbettPerson: B ScanlonPerson: S O’DeaPerson: J McCarthyPerson: M O’RiordanPerson: I CorbettPerson: P BrownePerson: RanahanPerson: T LeePerson: J GalvinPerson: D TreacyPerson: G CollinsPerson: S BuckleyPerson: D NevillePerson: K PhairPerson: I RyanPerson: G BrodyPerson: P McMahonPerson: D BoothPerson: P O’LearyPerson: R KehoePerson: P BegleyPerson: C BegleyPerson: K MeaneyPerson: J O’LoughlinPerson: C MeredithPerson: B SheehanPerson: S AttridePerson: R MunnellyPerson: D KingstonPerson: N DonoherPerson: MeaneyPerson: Daniel MeaneyPerson: John MullinsPerson: Éire ÓgPerson: David O’NeillPerson: MayfieldEvent: MunsterEvent: UlsterEvent: All-Ireland SHC QualifierEvent: All-Ireland SFC QualifierEvent: Munster finalOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: MonaghanOrganisation: ArmaghOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: Ballyhale ShamrocksOrganisation: Central Hearings CommitteeOrganisation: Ulster SFCOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: St Michael
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd