Cork firepower blows away Banner

Cork 7-23 Clare 1-5

In a sun-baked Mourneabbey, Clare were never in with a shout with the likes of scorers-in-chief Eimear Considine and Niamh O’Dea absent from the starting 15.

From the off Cork meant business and within two minutes had as many goals courtesy of Ciara O’Sullivan and Grace Kearney.

Marie Considine, Niamh Keane and Laurie Ryan did their best to keep Clare’s moves positive but the calibre of Cork was too potent.

Emma Farmer was in sensational form kicking 1-7 and helped the Rebels to lead 3-12 to 0-2 at the turnaround, with free-taker Aine Kelly putting scores on the board for John Burke’s side.

Cork substituted their midfield duo of Rena Buckley and captain Briege Corkery at the short whistle with the duo in action today in the camogie championship against Dublin.

Substitutes Orla Finn and Eimear Scally made an immediate impact, however — the latter bagging two goals in three minutes upon her introduction in the 42nd minute.

Eamonn Ryan also introduced All Star winner Nollaig Cleary, and with goals from Farmer, Scally (two) and Kearney, Cork took honours by a long shot, despite a late goal by Clare sub Ann Marie Callinan.

Cork now face Munster champions Kerry on Saturday week in Páirc Uí Rinn at 2.30pm.

Scorers for Cork: E Farmer 1-7, V Mulcahy 0-6 (0-1f), G Kearney and C O’Sullivan 2-1 each, E Scally 2-0, R Buckley and O Finn 0-2 each, D O’Reilly, Annie Walsh and O Farmer 0-1 each and G O’Flynn 0-1 (free).

Scorers for Clare: AM Callinan 1-0, A Kelly 0-4 (frees) and N Keane 0-1.

CORK: M O’Brien; R Phelan, Angela Walsh, B Stack; V Foley, D O’Reilly, G O’Flynn; R Buckley, B Corkery; A Walsh, C O’Sullivan, O Farmer; E Farmer, G Kearney, V Mulcahy. Subs: A Barrett for B Corkery and AM Walsh for R Buckley (HT), O Finn for C O’Sullivan (HT), E Scally for A Walsh and N Cleary for V Mulcahy (42).

CLARE: E O’Driscoll; L Ryan, E O’Connor, C Hester; E Hillery, L Woods, R Howley; M Considine, R Looney; T Hartley, L Henchy, A Keane; A Kelly, N Keane, G Nolan. Subs: S Quinn for E O’Connor (48), A Burke for A Keane and A O’Brien for L Ryan (53), AM Callinan for N Keane and B Mahon for L Henchy (56).

Referee: K Martin (Waterford)

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up