Kildorrery up ante in extra-time

Cork IFC

In idyllic conditions, this IFC second round game looked set to be put to bed before half time as Kildorrery led by eight. However, Cloyne, who never led, were dragged back into contention by O’Sullivan who goaled with seven minutes remaining and converted a pair of late frees to tie the game at 2-11 to 1-14.

O’Sullivan’s performance was made more impressive by the fact he picked up a serious looking leg injury halfway through the second-half.

Kildorrery had Jerry McCarthy (striking) and Shane Fitzgerald (two late yellow cards) sent to the line at the death, but once restored to a full hand they scored 1-2 in the first half of extra-time. The goal was created by the superb Tom Monaghan and drilled to the net by James McEniry. Monaghan also assisted the insurance goal in the final moments, Dave Kelly finishing.

As well as a wide spread of scorers, Kildorrery manager Noel Barry saw ball retention as key to his side’s success: “We gave away an awful lot of possession in normal time, so we told the lads to be a bit more controlled. In the first extra period I don’t think we gave the ball away, we kicked 1-2 without reply and the goal was the real killer.”

An early goal by James O’Sullivan had helped Kildorrery race ahead of a Cloyne side who started very defensively. But once they were forced to push men forward, they began to chip away at the Kildorrery lead.

However Kildorrery were able to keep their noses in front and had the legs to finish with a flourish.

Scorers for Kildorrery: A O’Brien (0-6, 3fs, 1 45), D Kelly (0-1f), J O’Sullivan (1-2 each), J McEniry (1-1), S Coughlan, T Monaghan (0-2 each), S Fitzgerald, P O’Brien (0-1 each).

Scorers for Cloyne: Diarmuid O’Sullivan (1-9, 3fs, 1 45), C O’Sullivan (1-1), C Mullins, A Walsh, S Creighton (0-1 each).

KILDORRERY: D White; S Kelly, L O Baoill, TP Murphy; J McCarthy, S Fitzgerald, E O’Connor; F Stapleton, S Coughlan; A O’Brien, J O’Sullivan, D Kelly; T Monaghan, P O’Brien, J McEniry.

Subs: J O Gormain for D Kelly (46), M Walsh for McCarthy and D Kelly for Fitzgerald (et), L McGrath for S Kelly (62).

CLOYNE: C Smith; J Cotter, Domhnall O’Sullivan, E Motherway; J Nyhan; K Dennehy, E O’Sullivan, B Fleming; K Cronin, P O’Sullivan; I Cahill, Diarmuid O’Sullivan, C Mullins; C O’Sullivan, C Lomasney.

Subs: A Walsh for Motherway (37), S Beausang for Nyhan and D Jermyn for Lomansey (46), S Creighton for Mullins (56).

Referee: J Dorgan (Nemo Rangers).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up