South Kerry ease past O’Rahilly’s

South Kerry 1-14 Kerins O’Rahillys 1-7

South Kerry ease past O’Rahilly’s

Backboned by Kerry senior players Killian Young, Bryan Sheehan, pictured, and Declan O’Sullivan, the divisional side set out their stall from the throw-in, and even though they were playing against the wind in that first period, they raced into a seven-point lead inside the opening 12 minutes.

Bryan Sheehan at centre- forward and Ciarán Keating at corner-forward were the tormentors in chief, with the impressive Keating getting the all-important goal in the eighth minute, after receiving a pass from Declan O’ Sullivan.

Sixteen minutes had elapsed before O’Rahilly’s had their first score — a point from full forward Barry John Keane, quickly followed by a Declan Quill free.

South Kerry, with Brendan O’Sullivan and Denis Daly dominating at midfield, where David Moran fought a lone battle for O’Rahilly’s, quickly reestablished their superiority and a succession of fine points before half-time saw them surge 1-8 to 0-3 clear at the break.

O’Rahilly’s needed a strong start to the second half to give themselves a fighting chance but instead they shipped four successive points inside the first six minutes. Those efforts from Bryan Sheehan and one apiece from Thomas Curran and Declan O’Sullivan, effectively ended the game as a contest.

South Kerry lost corner back Paul O’Sullivan through a red card in the 38th minute but only two minutes later referee Padraig O’Sullivan sent the visitors’ corner forward Jack Savage to the line when he received a black card after he had already picked up a yellow in the first half.

South Kerry with a 12-point advantage with five minutes remaining seemed to lose concentration, allowing Barry John Keane strike a late consolation goal for the losers, who must now plan for the second round.

Scorers for South Kerry: B Sheehan (0-6)(3f), C Keating (1-1), B O’ Sullivan (0-2), G Gibson, K Young, T Curran and D O’ Sullivan , B Dwyer (0-1) each.

Scorers for Kerins O’Rahillys: BJ Keane (1-2)(1f), D Quill (0-3)(3f), D Moran (0-1)(45), S Walsh (0-1).

SOUTH KERRY: D Horgan (St Mary’s), Paul O’Sullivan (Valentia), K Dwyer (Waterville), Dominic O’ Sullivan (Dromid Pearses), G Gibson (Waterville), K Young (Renard), Padraig O’ Sullivan (Dromid Pearses), B O’ Sullivan (Valentia), Denis Daly (St Mary’s), P O’ Donoghue (St Mary’s), B Sheehan (St Mary’s), T Curran (Dromid Pearses), C Farley (Dromid Pearses), Declan O’ Sullivan (Dromid Pearses), C Keating (Skelling Rangers).

Subs: J Curran (Valentia) for K Dwyer, B Dwyer (Waterville) for C Farley, Daniel Daly (St Mary’s) for T Curran, Brian O’ Sullivan (Renard) for C Keating.

KERINS O’RAHILLY’S: G Kissane, G O’ Grady, M Tierney, T Begley, C Coffey, A Thompson, M Donnelly, D Moran, JC O’ Connor, J Ferguson, K O’ Mahony, K Walshe, D Quill, BJ Keane, J Savage.

Subs: R Molloy for J Ferguson, S Walsh for J C O’ Connor, R O’ Callaghan for K Walshe, G O’ Connell for G O’ Grady, R Quill for D Quill.

Referee: Padraig O’ Sullivan.

More in this section

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Execution Time: 0.234 s