Tyrrell back in Kilkenny defence

Kilkenny continue the policy of rotation for tomorrow’s Allianz Hurling League Division 1 final in Semple Stadium (throw-in 3.30pm).

Tyrrell back in Kilkenny defence

Having beaten Galway by four points in the semi-final, the Cats have made three changes. Jackie Tyrrell, who has shared the centre-back berth with Brian Hogan and Lester Ryan during the campaign, returns at number six. He is joined by Joey Holden at right half-back, taking over from Pádraig Walsh, who moves to midfield alongside Michael Fennelly. Richie Hogan, midfield against Galway, is now at right half-forward with Walter Walsh missing out despite playing all previous seven games.

In the full-forward line, Richie Power replaces his brother John, reversing the change made in the previous game. Eoin Larkin returns from injury and is named among the substitutes.

Antrim, who take on Carlow in the Leinster SHC preliminary section at Dr Cullen Park (3pm), have named an unchanged side from that which started last week’s win over Westmeath.

Laois take on Westmeath tomorrow (Cusack Park, Mullingar, 3pm). Conor Dunne and Patrick Whelan form a new midfield while Ross King is named at full-forward.

In the Christy Ring Cup, Kerry face Derry today at 1pm in Austin Stack Park. In defence Dougie Fitzell replaces Darragh O’Connell. Up front, Mikey Boyle and David Butler replace Brendan O’Leary and Keith Carmody.

KILKENNY (SH v Tipperary): E Murphy (Glenmore); P Murphy (Danesfort), JJ Delaney (Fenians), B Kennedy (St Lachtain’s); J Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks), J Tyrrell (James Stephens), C Buckley (Dicksboro); M Fennelly (Ballyhale), P Walsh (Tullaroan); R Hogan (Danesfort), C Fennelly (Ballyhale), TJ Reid (Ballyhale); R Power (Carrickshock), M Kelly (O’Loughlin Gaels), H Shefflin (Ballyhale). Subs: D Herity (Dunnamaggin), T Walsh (Tullaroan), B Hogan (O’Loughlin Gaels), K Joyce (Rower Inistioge), C Fogarty (Erin’s Own), M Walsh (Young Irelands), L Ryan (Clara), W Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon), E Larkin (James Stephens), A Fogarty (Emerlds), J Farrell (Thomastown).

ANTRIM (SH v Carlow): C O’Connell (Loughgiel Shamrocks); O McFadden (Loughgiel) , C McKinley (Cú Chullain), C Johnson (Naomh Eoin); E Campbell (Ruairí Óg), N McAuley (Mac Uilin), N McManus (Ruairí Óg); D Hamill (Shane O’Neills), B McFall (Naomh Eoin); C Carson (Ruairí Óg), P Shiels (Cú Chulainn), S Beatty (O’Donovan Rossa); C Clarke (Mac Uilin), M Donnelly (Mac Uilin), PJ O’Connell

LAOIS (SH v Westmeath): E Reilly (St Lazerian’s Abbeyleix); JA Delaney (Clough Ballacolla), B Campion (Rathdowney Errill), B Stapleton (Borris-in-Ossory Kilcotton); J Fitzpatrick (Rathdowney Errill), M Whelan (Borris-in-Ossory Kilcotton), D Palmer (Camross); C Dunne (The Harps), P Whelan (Borris-in-Ossory Kilcotton); J Purcell (Rathdowney Errill), W Hyland (Clough Ballacolla), S Maher (Clough Ballacolla); N Foyle (Borris-in-Ossory Kilcotton), R King (Rathdowney Errill), T Fitzgerald (Portlaoise).

KERRY (SH v Derry): T Flynn (Causeway); B Murphy (Causeway), T Murnane (Kilmoyley), D Fitzell (Kilmoyley); S Weir (Crotta O’Neills), D Dineen (St Brendan’s), T Casey (Causeway); J Griffin (Lixnaw), J Egan (St Brendan’s); M Boyle (Ballyduff), D Collins (Kilmoyley), C Harty (Causeway); P Boyle (Ballyduff), D Butler (Knockavilla Donaskeigh), S Nolan (Crotta O’Neills). Subs: N Leen (Ballyduff), D O’Connell (Abbeydorney), K Carmody (Causeway), B O’Leary (Abbeydorney), J Leahy (Causeway), P O’Connor (Causeway), P O’Connor (Kilmoyley), P Lucid (Ballyheigue), J Casey (Ballyheigue), A Boyle (Ballyduff), A Fealy (Causeway), B Brosnan (Lixnaw).

More in this section

courtsgaahurlingplace: kilkennyplace: semple stadiumplace: dr cullen parkplace: westmeathplace: cusack park, mullingarplace: austin stack parkperson: tyrrellperson: jackie tyrrellperson: brian hoganperson: lester ryanperson: joey holdenperson: pádraig walshperson: michael fennellyperson: richie hoganperson: walter walshperson: richie powerperson: johnperson: eoin larkinperson: conor dunneperson: patrick whelanperson: ross kingperson: dougie fitzellperson: darragh o’connellperson: mikey boyleperson: david butlerperson: brendan o’learyperson: keith carmodyperson: kilkennyperson: e murphyperson: p murphyperson: jj delaneyperson: b kennedyperson: j holdenperson: j tyrrellperson: james stephensperson: c buckleyperson: m fennellyperson: ballyhaleperson: p walshperson: r hoganperson: c fennellyperson: tj reidperson: r powerperson: carrickshockperson: m kellyperson: o’loughlin gaelsperson: h shefflinperson: d herityperson: dunnamagginperson: t walshperson: tullaroanperson: b hoganperson: k joyceperson: rower inistiogeperson: c fogartyperson: m walshperson: l ryanperson: claraperson: w walshperson: tullogher rosberconperson: e larkinperson: a fogartyperson: j farrellperson: thomastownperson: antrimperson: c o’connellperson: o mcfaddenperson: loughgielperson: c mckinleyperson: cú chullainperson: c johnsonperson: naomh eoinperson: e campbellperson: ruairi ogperson: n mcauleyperson: mac uilinperson: n mcmanusperson: d hamillperson: shane o’neillsperson: b mcfallperson: c carsonperson: p shielsperson: cú chulainnperson: s beattyperson: o’donovan rossaperson: c clarkeperson: m donnellyperson: pj o’connellperson: shperson: e reillyperson: ja delaneyperson: clough ballacollaperson: b campionperson: rathdowney errillperson: b stapletonperson: borris-in-ossory kilcottonperson: j fitzpatrickperson: m whelanperson: d palmerperson: c dunneperson: pperson: j purcellperson: w hylandperson: s maherperson: n foyleperson: r kingperson: t fitzgeraldperson: kerryperson: t flynnperson: causewayperson: b murphyperson: t murnaneperson: kilmoyleyperson: d fitzellperson: s weirperson: crotta o’neillsperson: d dineenperson: t caseyperson: j griffinperson: j eganperson: m boyleperson: ballyduffperson: d collinsperson: c hartyperson: p boyleperson: d butlerperson: knockavilla donaskeighperson: s nolanperson: n leenperson: d o’connellperson: abbeydorneyperson: k carmodyperson: b o’learyperson: j leahyperson: p o’connorperson: p lucidperson: ballyheigueperson: j caseyperson: a boyleperson: a fealyperson: b brosnanperson: lixnawevent: allianz hurling league division 1event: leinster shcevent: christy ring cuporganisation: kilkennyorganisation: galwayorganisation: antrimorganisation: westmeathorganisation: laoisorganisation: kerryorganisation: derryorganisation: shorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: glenmoreorganisation: danesfortorganisation: feniansorganisation: st lachtain’sorganisation: ballyhale shamrocksorganisation: dicksboroorganisation: erin’s ownorganisation: emerldsorganisation: loughgiel shamrocksorganisation: the harpsorganisation: storganisation: st brendan’s

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.