Kingdom bid to maintain momentum

Kerry manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice believes that his side would be unlucky to miss out on the Allianz Football League Division 1 semi-finals if they beat Cork in tomorrow’s clash in Tralee (3pm).

Kingdom bid to maintain momentum

The Kingdom have won three games in a row since losing their first three but are reliant on other results if they are to finish in the top four. Fitzmaurice is keen to continue the momentum by collecting two points.

“If we were to win on Sunday and not qualify, I do think that we would be unlucky not to qualify on eight points,” he said.

“If we lose, I think we would be a bit disappointed because last year we won the last three, it staved off the relegation fear and almost got us into a league semi-final, and that gave us momentum going towards the Championship.

“If we lose and we do finish up, it’s a bit of a downer. If things don’t work out on Sunday and we don’t make it to the semi-finals, then it will be our last competitive game until June 22, which is a long gap, so we want to get the most out of the game.”

Fitzmaurice and his selectors have made two changes for the game, with Donnchadh Walsh and Daithí Casey coming into the half-forward line as Bryan Sheehan and Jonathan Lyne miss out.

“Both Donnchadh and Daithí did well when they came in the last day against Westmeath, in an area where we were in a bit of trouble in the first half,” Fitzmaurice said.

“There is no major reason why we left Bryan and Jonathan out, we just have decided to go with this line, because we wanted to have a look at it and see how they get on against a Cork half-back line.”

Westmeath, who are already relegated, make one change for their clash with Kildare in Newbridge, who have also succumbed to the drop.

Alan Giles is named at corner-forward in place of Denis Glennon, whom he replaced during last week’s loss to Kerry.

KERRY (NFL v Cork): B Kelly (Legion); P Murphy (Rathmore), M Griffin (St Michael’s/Foilmore), S Enright (Tarbert); P Crowley (Laune Rangers), F Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes), M Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht); A Maher (Duagh), D Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys); D Walsh (Cromane), D Casey (Dr Crokes), K O’Leary (Dr Crokes); S O’Brien (Kenmare Shamrocks), P Geaney (Dingle), J O’Donoghue (Legion).

Subs: B Kealy (Kilcummin), B Sheehan (St Mary’s), J Lyne (Legion), Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh-Glencar), J Buckley (Dr Crokes), A O’Mahony (Rathmore), J Sherwood (Firies), BJ Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys), M Geaney (Dingle), B McGuire (Listowel Emmets), P Kilkenny (Glenbeigh-Glencar).

DUBLIN (AFL v Tyrone): S Currie; J Cooper, R O’Carroll, D Daly; J McCarthy, C O’Sullivan, K Nolan; M Dara Macauley, T Brady; P Andrews, A Brogan, D Connolly; K McManamon, E O’Gara, B Brogan.

WESTMEATH (NFL v Kildare): S Gallagher (St Loman’s, Mullingar); S Gilmore (St Loman’s, Mullingar), K Gavin (Mullingar) Shamrocks), K Maguire (Caulry); Damien Dolan (Caulry), P Sharry (St Loman’s, Mullingar), D Harte (Garrycastle); D Duffy (Garrycastle), R Connellan (Athlone); C McCormack (Maryland), G Egan (Tyrrellspass), K Martin (Maryland); J Dolan (Garrycastle), Dessie Dolan (Garrycastle), A Giles (Coralstown/Kinnegad).

Subs: G Connaughton (Tubberclair), S Flynn (St Loman’s, Mullingar), R Foley (Coralstown/Kinnegad), J Egan (Athlone), D McNicholas (Tyrrellspass), D McCormack (Rosemount), D Whelan (St Loman’s, Mullingar), D Lynch (St Malachy’s), A Coffey (Tubberclair), K Daly (Mullingar Shamrocks).

Kerry (AHL v Carlow): T Flynn; B Murphy, J Casey, T Casey; S Weir, T Murnane, K Carmody; C Harty, D Dineen; D O’Connell, D Collins, S Nolan; D Butler, A Boyle, P Boyle. Subs: N Leen, B Brosnan, J Griffin, A Fealy, J Leahy, B O’Leary, P Lucid, P O’Connor, L Boyle, D Goulding, K Orpen.

More in this section

courtsgaafootballkerrycorkplace: traleeplace: newbridgeperson: kerryperson: éamonn fitzmauriceperson: fitzmauriceperson: donnchadh walshperson: daithi caseyperson: bryan sheehanperson: jonathan lyneperson: donnchadhperson: dáithíperson: bryanperson: jonathanperson: alan gilesperson: denis glennonperson: b kellyperson: p murphyperson: rathmoreperson: m griffinperson: s enrightperson: p crowleyperson: rangersperson: f fitzgeraldperson: dr crokesperson: m ó séperson: an ghaeltachtperson: a maherperson: duaghperson: d moranperson: kerins o’rahillysperson: d walshperson: cromaneperson: d caseyperson: k o’learyperson: s o’brienperson: kenmare shamrocksperson: p geaneyperson: j o’donoghueperson: b kealyperson: kilcumminperson: b sheehanperson: j lyneperson: darran o’sullivanperson: glenbeighperson: j buckleyperson: a o’mahonyperson: j sherwoodperson: firiesperson: bj keaneperson: m geaneyperson: b mcguireperson: listowel emmetsperson: dublinperson: s currieperson: j cooperperson: r o’carrollperson: d dalyperson: j mccarthyperson: c o’sullivanperson: k nolanperson: m dara macauleyperson: t bradyperson: p andrewsperson: a broganperson: d connollyperson: k mcmanamonperson: e o’garaperson: b broganperson: westmeathperson: s gallagherperson: s gilmoreperson: k gavinperson: k maguireperson: damien dolanperson: p sharryperson: mullingarperson: d harteperson: d duffyperson: garrycastleperson: r connellanperson: c mccormackperson: g eganperson: k martinperson: j dolanperson: dessie dolanperson: a gilesperson: g connaughtonperson: s flynnperson: r foleyperson: j eganperson: d mcnicholasperson: d mccormackperson: d whelanperson: d lynchperson: a coffeyperson: k dalyperson: t flynnperson: b murphyperson: j caseyperson: t caseyperson: s weirperson: t murnaneperson: k carmodyperson: c hartyperson: d dineenperson: d o’connellperson: d collinsperson: s nolanperson: d butlerperson: a boyleperson: p boyleperson: n leenperson: b brosnanperson: j griffinperson: a fealyperson: j leahyperson: b o’learyperson: p lucidperson: p o’connorperson: l boyleperson: d gouldingperson: k orpenevent: allianz football league division 1organisation: corkorganisation: westmeathorganisation: kildareorganisation: nflorganisation: legionorganisation: st michael’sorganisation: tarbertorganisation: launeorganisation: dingleorganisation: st mary’sorganisation: kilkennyorganisation: glenbeighorganisation: aflorganisation: tyroneorganisation: st loman’sorganisation: mullingarorganisation: shamrocksorganisation: caulryorganisation: athloneorganisation: marylandorganisation: tyrrellspassorganisation: coralstownorganisation: kinnegadorganisation: tubberclairorganisation: st malachy’sorganisation: mullingar shamrocksorganisation: ahlorganisation: carlow

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.