Cork hurling selectors drop five players from squad

The Cork senior hurling management have made a number of alterations to their squad for the forthcoming championship.

Cork hurling selectors drop five players from squad

Following the end of their league campaign last week against Tipperary, manager Jimmy Barry-Murphy and his selectors have dropped defenders Killian Murphy, Stephen White and Colm Spillane as well as attacker Michael O’Sullivan, while teenager Michael Cahalane was not considered due to Leaving Certificate commitments.

Attacker Bill Cooper of Youghal, a member of the panel during Denis Walsh’s reign before suffering a cruciate ligament injury, and Mallow defender Cormac Murphy, who impressed for UCC during the Fitzgibbon Cup and is still eligible for U21, have been added to the panel.

Meanwhile, Tyrone have made just one change for Sunday’s clash with Dublin in the final round of Division 1 of the Allianz Football League at Healy Park in Omagh (3pm).

With the avoidance of defeat all the Red Hands require to secure a semi-final spot, the only alteration is an enforced one, wing-back Tiernan McCann missing out after suffering a hamstring strain in last week’s draw with Cork.

As a result, Emmet McKenna comes into the team at number 10, with Ciarán McGinley dropping to the half-back line.

Emmet Guckin is the only survivor as Derry, who have already clinched a place in the last four, take on Mayo, who must win if they are to progress.

Elsewhere, full-forward Mark Nally for the injured Kevin Finn is the only change to the Roscommon side for tomorrow’s Connacht U21FC final against Leitrim at Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada (throw-in 2.30pm).

DERRY (NFL v Mayo): E McNicholl (Glenullin); O Duffy (Foreglen), C McAtamney (Swatragh), K McKaigue (Slaughtneil); C Kielt (Kilrea), M Craig (Dungiven), A McAlynn (Loup); E McGuckin (Magherafelt), N Holly (Eoghan Rua); A Devlin (Ballinderry), D Heavron (Magherafelt), C McWilliams (Ballinascreen); J Kearney (Swatragh), D Mullan (Eoghan Rua), C McGoldrick (Eoghan Rua). Subs: T Mallon (Loup), G O’Kane (Glenullin), K Conway (Ballinascreen), P McGuigan (Slaughtneil), E Bradley (Glen), P Cassidy (Bellaghy), A Kerrigan (Claudy), N McNicholl (Glenullin), N McFeely (Foreglen), R Bell (Ballinderry), A O’Neill (Loup), C O’Boyle (Lavey).

LIMERICK (NFL v Cavan): B Scanlon (Gerald Griffins); S O’Dea (Kilteely-Dromkeen), J McCarthy (St Kieran’s), C Moran (Monaleen); J Riordan (Fr Caseys), P Browne (Fr Caseys), P Ranahan (Ballysteen); T Lee (Ballylanders), J Galvin (Croom); G Hegarty (St Patrick’s), C Sheehan (Newcastle West), S Buckley (Dromcollogher-Broadford); E Hanrahan (St Patrick’s), G Collins (Monaleen), I Ryan (St Senan’s).

TYRONE (NFL v Dublin): N Morgan (Edendork); A McCrory (Errigal Ciarán), R McNamee (Aghyaran), R McKenna (Eglish); C McGinley (Errigal Ciarán), Matthew Donnelly (Trillick), P Harte (Errigal Ciarán); C Cavanagh (Moy), S Cavanagh (Moy); E McKenna (Eglish), S McGuigan (Ardboe), Mark Donnelly (Carrickmore); D McCurry (Edendork), K Coney (Ardboe), C McAliskey (Clonoe). Subs: M O’Neill (Clonoe), K Gallagher (Newtownstewart), C Gormley (Carrickmore), C Grugan (Omagh), P Hughes (Eskra), PJ Lavery (Clonoe), D McBride (Strabane), N McKenna (Donoughmore), P McNeice (Coalisland), R O’Neill (Omagh), M Penrose (Carrickmore).

ROSCOMMON (U21FC v Leitrim): C Lavin (Éire Óg); D Murray (Pádraig Pearses), S Mullooly (Strokestown), C Kenny (Oran); J McManus (Roscommon Gaels), F Kelly (Castlerea St Kevin’s), C Daly (Pádraig Pearses); S Killoran (Elphin), T Corcoran (Strokestown); C Kilcline (Roscommon Gaels), M Healy (Roscommon Gaels), E Smith (Boyle); D Murtagh (St Faithleach’s), M Nally (Roscommon Gaels), D Smith (Boyle).

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingPlace: YoughalPlace: Healy ParkPlace: OmaghPlace: Pairc SeanPlace: BallinascreenPlace: Roscommon GaelsPerson: Jimmy Barry-MurphyPerson: Killian MurphyPerson: Stephen WhitePerson: Colm SpillanePerson: Michael O’SullivanPerson: Michael CahalanePerson: Bill CooperPerson: Denis WalshPerson: Cormac MurphyPerson: Tiernan McCannPerson: Emmet McKennaPerson: Ciaran McGinleyPerson: Emmet GuckinPerson: Mark NallyPerson: Kevin FinnPerson: DerryPerson: E McNichollPerson: O DuffyPerson: ForeglenPerson: C McAtamneyPerson: SwatraghPerson: K McKaiguePerson: SlaughtneilPerson: C KieltPerson: KilreaPerson: M CraigPerson: DungivenPerson: A McAlynnPerson: LoupPerson: E McGuckinPerson: MagherafeltPerson: N HollyPerson: Eoghan RuaPerson: A DevlinPerson: BallinderryPerson: D HeavronPerson: C McWilliamsPerson: J KearneyPerson: D MullanPerson: C McGoldrickPerson: T MallonPerson: G O’KanePerson: GlenullinPerson: K ConwayPerson: BallinascreenPerson: P McGuiganPerson: E BradleyPerson: GlenPerson: P CassidyPerson: BellaghyPerson: A KerriganPerson: ClaudyPerson: N McNichollPerson: N McFeelyPerson: R BellPerson: A O’NeillPerson: C O’BoylePerson: LimerickPerson: B ScanlonPerson: Gerald GriffinsPerson: S O’DeaPerson: Kilteely-DromkeenPerson: J McCarthyPerson: C MoranPerson: J RiordanPerson: Fr CaseysPerson: P BrownePerson: P RanahanPerson: BallysteenPerson: T LeePerson: J GalvinPerson: CroomPerson: G HegartyPerson: C SheehanPerson: S BuckleyPerson: Dromcollogher-BroadfordPerson: E HanrahanPerson: G CollinsPerson: MonaleenPerson: I RyanPerson: TyronePerson: N MorganPerson: EdendorkPerson: A McCroryPerson: Errigal CiaranPerson: R McNameePerson: AghyaranPerson: R McKennaPerson: EglishPerson: C McGinleyPerson: Matthew DonnellyPerson: TrillickPerson: P HartePerson: C CavanaghPerson: MoyPerson: S CavanaghPerson: E McKennaPerson: S McGuiganPerson: ArdboePerson: Mark DonnellyPerson: CarrickmorePerson: D McCurryPerson: K ConeyPerson: C McAliskeyPerson: ClonoePerson: M O’NeillPerson: K GallagherPerson: C GormleyPerson: C GruganPerson: P HughesPerson: EskraPerson: PJ LaveryPerson: D McBridePerson: N McKennaPerson: DonoughmorePerson: P McNeicePerson: R O’NeillPerson: M PenrosePerson: C LavinPerson: Éire ÓgPerson: D MurrayPerson: Padraig PearsesPerson: S MulloolyPerson: C KennyPerson: J McManusPerson: F KellyPerson: C DalyPerson: S KilloranPerson: T CorcoranPerson: C KilclinePerson: M HealyPerson: E SmithPerson: BoylePerson: D MurtaghPerson: M NallyPerson: D SmithEvent: Fitzgibbon CupEvent: Connacht U21FCOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: UCCOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: Red HandsOrganisation: DerryOrganisation: MayoOrganisation: RoscommonOrganisation: LeitrimOrganisation: NFLOrganisation: LaveyOrganisation: CavanOrganisation: St Kieran’sOrganisation: BallylandersOrganisation: St Patrick’sOrganisation: Newcastle WestOrganisation: St Senan’sOrganisation: NewtownstewartOrganisation: CoalislandOrganisation: OmaghOrganisation: CarrickmoreOrganisation: U21FCOrganisation: StrokestownOrganisation: OranOrganisation: Roscommon GaelsOrganisation: Castlerea St Kevin’sOrganisation: St Faithleach’s
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd