Tipp go top as Grogan grabs golden goal

Tipperary 3-09 Clare 0-14

Tipp go top as Grogan grabs golden goal

Tipp maintained their unbeaten start as Clare suffered their first defeat of the campaign to slip to third in the standings.

At half-time yesterday, the hosts led by 2-5 to 0-9 after Conor Sweeney and Grogan netted.

Sweeney goaled after 18 seconds, and four minutes after missing a penalty, Grogan drilled home a brilliant goal on the half-hour.

Clare were reliant on David Tubridy, Martin O’Leary and Shane McGrath as they tried to stay in touch and with 18 minutes remaining the visitors were level (0-12 to 2-6).

But after Michael Quinlivan was fouled for a penalty in the 54th minute, Grogan stepped forward to make no mistake at the second attempt, after Pierce de Loughrey had saved his first half effort.

Meanwhile, the Tipperary team to play Waterford in the Cadbury Munster U21 FC quarter-final on Wednesday evening has been announced (see digest P41 for details).

Scorers for Tipperary: B Grogan 2-2 (1-0 pen, 0-1f), C Sweeney 1-1 (0-1f), M Quinlivan, P Austin & B Fox 0-2 each.

Scorers for Clare: D Tubridy 0-5 (0-2f, 0-1 45), M O’Leary 0-4 (3f), S McGrath 0-3, J Malone & R Donnelly 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: P Fitzgerald; G Mulhair, J Coghlan, P Codd; R Kiely, P Acheson, D Leahy; S O’Brien, G Hannigan; P Austin, B Grogan, I Fahey; B Fox, M Quinlivan, C Sweeney.

Subs: A Maloney for Fahey (15), C McCullagh for Maloney (44), L Egan for Hannigan (59), C Dillon for Austin (63), A Campbell for Codd (66), A Matassa for O’Brien (70+2).

CLARE: P de Loughrey; D Ryan, G Kelly, M McMahon; S Hickey, E Coughlan, M Óg Murphy; G Brennan, C O’Connor; S Collins, S McGrath, S Brennan; M O’Leary, D Tubridy, J Malone.

Subs: K Hartnett for Murphy (h.t.), P McMahon for O’Connor (45), R Donnelly for McGrath (66).

Referee: N Ward (Westmeath).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up