Ballysaggart annoyed as appeal rejected

Creggan Kickhams are to hold onto their All-Ireland JHC Club title, the CCCC ruled last night.

Ballysaggart annoyed  as appeal rejected

Both Creggan Kickhams and Ballysaggart were informed the result of last month’s game stands, but no explanation was provided in the one line email sent from Croke Park.

The Antrim side overcame Ballysaggart in a final replay, but the result was thrown into doubt when it emerged two of the Creggan players may have been ineligible.

Conor Small and Donal Carey were U16 last year and were not part of Kickhams’ Ulster winning panel, as they were underage for adult level.

However, the pair played in all three of their All-Ireland series games this year which, according to the GAA’s Official Guide, is linked to last season’s competitions and therefore raises questions about their legitimacy.

Ballysaggart objected to the result of the game upon learning the ages of Small and Carey, but it was dismissed by the CCCC as it was submitted past the 72-hour deadline from the game’s throw-in.

A Ballysaggart club official last night told the Irish Examiner they were ‘disappointed’ but accepted the CCCC’s decision and their only grievance in attempting to lodge an objection at the time was that they had three players in the same age bracket as Small and Carey.

In that drawn final the Waterford champions were well in control but lost their shape when full-back got injured, resulting in wholesale changes.

According to a club spokesperson, one of those U16s they didn't play would have slotted straight into full-back and thus avoided that disruption to the team, but they stuck to the rules and suffered for it.

In other news, Wexford manager Liam Dunne is hard-hit with a combination of suspension and injury for this Sunday’s crucial division 1B meeting with Limerick, and will be under pressure to maintain the Model County’s 100% start.

Andrew Shore, Ciaran Kenny, Conor McDonald, Richie Kehoe, Eoin Moore, David Redmond and Garrett Sinnott are all marked absent, the panel reduced to 23 for what was already going to be a major test.

Cork manager Jimmy Barry-Murphy makes seven changes from the team that beat Laois last time out, welcoming back dual players Eoin Cadogan and Aidan Walsh, both of whom start. Also getting the nod are Anthony Nash, Killian Murphy, debutant Eoin Keane, Daniel Kearney and Conor Lehane (returning from injury), replacing Darren McCarthy, Colm Spillane (injured), Paul Haughney, Christopher Joyce, Jamie Coughlan, Michael O’Sullivan and Alan Cadogan.

CORK (SH v Offaly): A Nash, S O’Neill, S McDonnell, K Murphy; E Cadogan, E Keane, W Egan; M Ellis, L McLoughlin; D Kearney, S Harnedy, A Walsh; P Horgan, C Lehane, S Moylan.

Subs: D McCarthy, C Joyce, D Cahalane, R O’Shea, J Coughlan, M Cahalane, P Cronin, C McCarthy, B Lawton, B Hartnett, P Haughney.

WEXFORD (SH v Limerick): M Fanning; K Rossiter, M O’Hanlon, B Kenny; W Devereux, L Chin, E Martin; D O’Keeffe, H Kehoe; S Tomkins, P Morris, I Byrne; J Guiney, G Moore, L Og McGovern.

Subs: B O’Connor, L Ryan, E Conroy, J Tonks, R Jacob, B Jordan, C Devitt, J O’Connor.

TIPPERARY (NHL Div 1 v Clare): D Gleeson; P Stapleton, C O'Mahony, C Barrett; S McGrath, P Maher, M Cahill; B Maher, J Woodlock; K Bergin, N McGrath, P Murphy; J Forde, S Callanan, S Bourke.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Croke ParkPerson: BallysaggartPerson: Conor SmallPerson: Donal CareyPerson: SmallPerson: CareyPerson: Liam DunnePerson: Andrew ShorePerson: Ciaran KennyPerson: Conor McDonaldPerson: Richie KehoePerson: Eoin MoorePerson: David RedmondPerson: Garrett SinnottPerson: Jimmy Barry-MurphyPerson: Eoin CadoganPerson: Aidan WalshPerson: Anthony NashPerson: Killian MurphyPerson: Eoin KeanePerson: Daniel KearneyPerson: Conor LehanePerson: Darren McCarthyPerson: Colm SpillanePerson: Paul HaughneyPerson: Christopher JoycePerson: Jamie CoughlanPerson: Michael O’SullivanPerson: Alan CadoganPerson: CorkPerson: A NashPerson: S O’NeillPerson: S McDonnellPerson: K MurphyPerson: E CadoganPerson: E KeanePerson: W EganPerson: M EllisPerson: L McLoughlinPerson: D KearneyPerson: S HarnedyPerson: A WalshPerson: P HorganPerson: C LehanePerson: S MoylanPerson: D McCarthyPerson: C JoycePerson: D CahalanePerson: R O’SheaPerson: J CoughlanPerson: M CahalanePerson: P CroninPerson: C McCarthyPerson: B LawtonPerson: B HartnettPerson: P HaughneyPerson: M FanningPerson: K RossiterPerson: M O’HanlonPerson: B KennyPerson: W DevereuxPerson: L ChinPerson: E MartinPerson: D O’KeeffePerson: H KehoePerson: S TomkinsPerson: P MorrisPerson: I ByrnePerson: J GuineyPerson: G MoorePerson: L Og McGovernPerson: B O’ConnorPerson: L RyanPerson: E ConroyPerson: J TonksPerson: R JacobPerson: B JordanPerson: C DevittPerson: J O’ConnorPerson: D GleesonPerson: P StapletonPerson: C O'MahonyPerson: C BarrettPerson: S McGrathPerson: P MaherPerson: M CahillPerson: B MaherPerson: J WoodlockPerson: K BerginPerson: N McGrathPerson: P MurphyPerson: J FordePerson: S CallananPerson: S BourkeEvent: All-Ireland JHC ClubEvent: All-IrelandEvent: Div 1Organisation: Creggan KickhamsOrganisation: CCCCOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: CregganOrganisation: Kickhams’Organisation: GAAOrganisation: BallysaggartOrganisation: Irish ExaminerOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: SHOrganisation: Offaly
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.223 s