Rebel boss Cuthbert reveals 30-man league squad

Ruairí Deane, Alan Cronin and Donal Óg Hodnett are some of the notable newcomers to the Cork football squad for the Allianz Football League Division 1 campaign, though Ray Carey is not included.

Rebel boss Cuthbert reveals 30-man league squad

Rebels manager Brian Cuthbert last night named a 30-man squad for the league, with Cork starting off against Westmeath in Páirc Uí Rinn next Sunday.

Noel Galvin, Micheál Ó Laoire and brothers Colm and Kevin O’Driscoll are included after encouraging displays in the McGrath Cup while Deane, Cronin and Hodnett all make the cut.

Midfielder Deane, from Bantry Blues, captained Cork to last year’s All-Ireland JFC title but did not feature in the winter training panel selected in November.

Having captained IT Tralee in the McGrath Cup, he is set to challenge along with Ó Laoire and Andrew O’Sullivan for a midfield spot, an area where Cork are light following retirements last year.

Cronin of Nemo Rangers played under Cuthbert when he managed the Cork minor side and provides versatility as he can play in defence or attack.

Hodnett, who lined out for Cork IT in the pre-season competition, is an attacker who can take and create scores, as he showed with a goal in a challenge against Dublin at the weekend.

Carey, an All-Ireland medallist in 2010, was not involved with Cork last year as he was travelling. He was included in November’s panel but did not play in the McGrath Cup.

Though out injured, Patrick Kelly, Colm O’Neill, Damien Cahalane and Jamie O’Sullivan are all included too. Cuthbert has also chosen eight U21 players to train with the panel.

CORK PANEL FOR NFL: K O’Halloran (Bishopstown), D Hanrahan (Douglas), M Shields (St Finbarr’s, captain), E Cadogan (Douglas), T Clancy (Fermoy), J McLoughlin (Kanturk), D Cahalane (Castlehaven), N Galvin (Ballincollig), J O’Sullivan (Bishopstown), J Loughrey (Mallow), A Cronin (Nemo Rangers), T Clancy (Clonakilty), K O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCárthaigh), M Ó Laoire (Naomh Abán), A O’Sullivan (Castletownbere), A Walsh (Kanturk), R Deane (Bantry Blues), F Goold (Macroom), B O’Driscoll (Nemo), J O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers), C O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCárthaigh), D O’Connor (Ballydesmond), D Óg Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa), P Kelly (Ballincollig), C O’Neill (Ballyclough), D Goulding (Éire Óg), B Hurley (Castlehaven), P Kerrigan (Nemo), M Collins (Castlehaven), J Hayes (Carbery Rangers); U21 Development Players: C Dorman (Bishopstown), B O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCárthaigh), I Maguire (St Finbarr’s), C Vaughan (Iveleary), A Cadogan (Douglas), D Mac Eoin (Ilen Rovers), M Sugrue (Bandon), K Crowley (Millstreet).

More in this section

courtsgaafootballplace: páirc uí rinnplace: bishopstownperson: cuthbertperson: ruairi deaneperson: alan croninperson: donal og hodnettperson: ray careyperson: brian cuthbertperson: noel galvinperson: micheal ó laoireperson: colmperson: kevin o’driscollperson: deaneperson: croninperson: hodnettperson: o laoireperson: andrew o’sullivanperson: careyperson: patrick kellyperson: colm o’neillperson: damien cahalaneperson: jamie o’sullivanperson: cork panelperson: k o’halloranperson: d hanrahanperson: douglasperson: m shieldsperson: e cadoganperson: t clancyperson: j mcloughlinperson: d cahalaneperson: n galvinperson: ballincolligperson: j o’sullivanperson: j loughreyperson: mallowperson: a croninperson: clonakiltyperson: k o’driscollperson: tadhg maccarthaighperson: m ó laoireperson: naomh abanperson: a o’sullivanperson: a walshperson: r deaneperson: f gooldperson: macroomperson: b o’driscollperson: j o’rourkeperson: c o’driscollperson: d o’connorperson: d óg hodnettperson: o’donovan rossaperson: p kellyperson: c o’neillperson: ballycloughperson: d gouldingperson: éire ógperson: b hurleyperson: p kerriganperson: nemoperson: m collinsperson: j hayesperson: c dormanperson: i maguireperson: c vaughanperson: ivelearyperson: a cadoganperson: d mac eoinperson: m sugrueperson: k crowleyevent: mcgrath cupevent: all-ireland jfcorganisation: corkorganisation: allianzorganisation: rebelsorganisation: bantry bluesorganisation: nemo rangersorganisation: dublinorganisation: nflorganisation: st finbarrorganisation: fermoyorganisation: bishopstownorganisation: castletownbereorganisation: carberyorganisation: castlehavenorganisation: carbery rangersorganisation: u21 development playersorganisation: st finbarr’sorganisation: ilen roversorganisation: millstreet
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up