Beston leads the charge as Mitchelstown make decider

Mitchelstown 0-11 Glenbower Rovers 0-08

Mitchelstown were 0-5 to 0-3 down in the 20th minute when Seamus Harnedy extended Glenbower’s lead to two.

Glenbower, whose midfielder Kieran Lane top-scored with 0-5 (four frees), were without talisman Joe Deane and crucially failed to score for a 27-minute period thereafter.

In contrast, Mitchelstown registered six points in that period as Beston, scorer of 0-5 — hit three excellent points from open play and Michael Walsh, Jason Cott and Shane Cahill also raised white flags.

That allowed Mitchelstown lead 0-9 to 0-5 before Lane scored two points with just six minutes remaining.

Still, Beston and Patrick Molloy guaranteed Mitchelstown’s passage prior to Lane’s consolation score.

Scorers for Mitchelstown: S Beston (0-5, 2fs), J Sheehan, D Dineen, M Walsh (f), J Cott, S Cahill, P Molloy (0-1 each).

Scorers for Glenbower Rovers: K Lane (0-5, 4fs), D Cahill, S Lyons, S Harnedy (0-1 each).

MITCHELSTOWN: L Hanna; S Coughlan, F Herlihy, M Maher; O Burke, S Fox, P Molloy; L Flynn, D Dineen; M Walsh, S Beston (capt), J Cott; J Sheehan, S Cahill, J Finn.

Subs: A O’Brien for Sheehan (44), J O’Sullivan for Finn (60), P Donegan for Cott (61).

GLENBOWER ROVERS: S Scully; T Murphy, P McGrath, A Keniry; C Murphy (capt), C O’Brien, J Dullea; S Harnedy, K Lane; C Fogarty, S Lyons, B Collins; S Long, D Cahill, J O’Connor.

Subs: B Barry for McGrath (20), S Murphy for O’Connor (ht), J Kelleher for Fogarty (46), M Murphy for Keniry (49), A Keniry for T Murphy (54).

Referee: James Dorgan (Nemo Rangers).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.25 s