Mulhern fires Wolfe Tones to glory

Wolfe Tones, Mostrim 3-12 Clonguish Gaels 2-14

Wolfe Tones full-forward Sean Browne got the opening goal in the 10th minute of a cracking game as the sides ended up all square at the break, 1-6 to 0-9. And when Joe O’Brien found the net for Clonguish in the early stages of the second half it looked like the holders would go on to win.

But the Mostrim side battled back into contention and goals from Paddy Cullen and Sean Browne appeared to have settled the issue, only for O’Brien to fire the equalising goal for Clonguish in the 57th minute. Moments later Mulhern landed the winner as Wolfe Tones claimed their first title since 2011.

Scorers for Wolfe Tones: S Browne (2-0), E Donnellan (0-4, 3f), P Cullen (1-0), M Coyle (0-2), J Casey (0-2), J Mulhern (0-2), L Kelly (0-1), K Cox (0-1).

Scorers for Clonguish Gaels: J O’Brien (2-8, 3f), Eanna Daly (0-2, 2f), K Murray (0-2), P Corcoran (0-2).

WOLFE TONES, MOSTRIM: H O’Kane; F Coyle, T Stakem, J Gaffney; C Fahy, B Stakem, J Lynam; J Casey, M Coyle; L Kelly, K Cox , J Mulhern; E Donnellan, S Browne, P Cullen.

Sub: J Cullen for L Kelly (48).

CLONGUISH GAELS: J Minnock; D Connolly, T Prunty, R Breslin; C Corcoran, B Burke, P Barden Jnr; G Moore, A Watters; E Daly, S O’Brien, P Corcoran; J O’Brien, P McGarry, K Murray.

Subs: P Dowd for S O’Brien (41); M Farrell for P McGarry (50).

Referee: T Killian (Roscommon).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.