Football favourites join Hall of Fame

All-Ireland SFC winners Ray Silke, Brian Mullins, Jimmy Deenihan and Pat Spillane are amongst the stars set to be inducted into the University of Limerick’s Sports Hall of Fame later this month.

The event, part of the 40th celebrations of UL, marks the achievements of former students who left a lasting imprint on the Irish sporting scene. UL President, Professor Don Barry said: “These 16 individuals will be remembered for their achievements, their commitment to excellence and the inspiration they provide to our next generation of athletes.” The Sports Hall of Fame will be launched at a ceremony in the University Arena on Saturday, September 28 at 2.30pm. The event is open to the public and followed by a live screening of the All-Ireland hurling final replay.

SPORTS HALL OF FAME INDUCTEES: Sarah Jane Bolton (rugby), Brian Mullins (Gaelic football), Eimear Cregan (hockey), Seán O’Grady (paralympics), Jimmy Deenihan (Gaelic football), Eddie O’Sullivan (rugby), Gerard Hartmann (triathlon), Ciara Peelo (sailing), Liam Hennessy (athletics), Ray Silke (gaelic football), Eddie Keher (hurling), Pat Spillane (Gaelic football), Seán McMahon (hurling), Carmel Vekins (kayak and canoe polo), Sinéad Millea (camogie) and Tony Ward (rugby).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up