Aghabullogue retain status

Aghabullogue 1-19 Dromina 0-17

Spurred on by a 28th minute goal from corner-forward John Corkery, they kept their opponents at arm’s length for the second period. While Corkery’s strike will go down as the major factor in this win, the plaudits should be reserved for talisman Mark O’Flynn who slotted over nine frees in a tense and passionate environment.

Others to impress for the victors were midfield pairing of Michael Dennehy and Sean O’Sullivan, full forward Dan Twomey and full-back Eamonn Murphy.

Dromina had a scoring machine in Andrew O’Shaughnessy, who rattled over seven frees to keep his side in touch when Aghabullogue looked to be taking a stranglehold on proceedings.

Scorers for Aghabullogue: M O’Flynn 0-9 (seven frees, two sixty fives); J Corkery 1-3; J Buckley, D Twomey 0-2 each, M Dennehy, S O’Sullivan, F Foley 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dromina: A O’Shaughnessy 0-7 (all frees); J Delee 0-4; D Buckley 0-2; K Hayes, J Finn, J Jordan, W Naughton 0-1 each.

AGHABULLOGUE: D O’Leary; P Murphy, E Murphy, P Twomey; N Buckley, A Barry Murphy, E Kennedy; M Dennehy, S O’Sullivan; J Buckley, G Murphy, M O’Flynn; J Corkery, D Twomey, F Foley.

Subs: I Barry-Murphy for A Barry-Murphy (50), J Kelleher for F Foley (52).

DROMINA: R Crowley; D O’Shaughnessy, J O’Connor, B Naughton; P Hassett, G Hayes, B Boles; D O’Carroll, D Buckley; J Delee, P Hayes, A O’Shaughnessy; R Morrissey, K Hayes, J Finn.

Subs: J Jordan for R Morrissey (23), M Naughton for J Finn (57).

Referee: D Carroll (Kanturk).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up