Rebels ring changes for replay

The Cork minor football management have rung the changes for tonight’s Electric Ireland Munster MFC first round replay with Kerry in Austin Stack Park in Tralee.

The Rebels have made six alterations to their side, with Dylan Quinn and Kevin Flahive coming into the full-back line for Kieran Histon and Niall Hayes while Seán White replaces Rickard Cahalane in the half-back line. At midfield, Conor Kingston – the only outfield player of the Cork 24-man squad for last Friday’s drawn game not to see game-time – now starts alongside Ryan Harkin with Peter O’Neill losing out.

In attack, Richard O’Sullivan starts instead of Don O’Driscoll while Aidan Moynihan, who scored the equalising penalty at the end of extra time last week, is in for Conor O’Driscoll, both switches reflecting substitutions made last week.

Kerry have made two changes to their side. Ardfert’s Kevin Shanahan at midfield and full-forward Conor Jordan (Austin Stacks) come into Mickey Ned O’Sullivan’s side for the players they replaced during last Friday’s drawn game in Páirc Uí Rinn, Barry O’Sullivan and Shane O’Connor respectively. With O’Connor having captained the side last week, Shanahan, who also represents county champions St Brendan’s, is now skipper.

Kingdom manager O’Sullivan is hopeful Shanahan’s addition will help in winning possession.

“We didn’t do well in the middle last week and we’ll be looking to improve there,” he said. “Having said that, there will be areas where Cork will feel that they can improve on as well. We’re optimistic, the team showed great heart to force extra time last week, they were three points down with five minutes left, probably fortunate to be in that position, but they didn’t throw in the towel and got the result.”

O’Sullivan is not pinning too much significance on having home advantage. “We train there but I don’t think there’s any great significance attached.”

KERRY: S Ryan (Rathmore); ST Dillon (St Senan’s), C Ó Lúing (An Ghaeltacht), P Ó Conchúir (Dingle); M Flaherty (Dingle), G Horan (Austin Stacks), B Sugure (Renard); É Ó Conchúir (An Ghaeltacht), K Shanahan (Ardfert); D Foran (St Senan’s), J Savage (Kerins O’Rahillys), T Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht); C Keane (Killarney Legion), C Jordan (Austin Stacks), K Spillane (Templenoe).

Subs: D O’Shea (Ballydonoghue), S O’Connor (John Mitchels), B O’Sullivan (Dingle), F Clifford (Waterville), K Murphy (Glenflesk), P Carroll (Ardfert), M Burns (Dr Crokes), J O’Kelly (Austin Stacks), T Brosnan (Dr Crokes).

CORK: A Casey (Kiskeam); M McSweeney (Newcestown), D Quinn (St Finbarr’s), K Flahive (Douglas); S White (Clonakilty), S Cronin (Nemo Rangers), K O’Neill (Glenvile); R Harkin (Mallow), C Kingston (Douglas); R O’Sullivan (Kilmacabea), K O’Connor (Mallow), K Cremin (Boherbue); M Cahalane (Bandon), A Moynihan (Canovee), J Bushe (Ilen Rovers).

Subs: Colm O’Driscoll (Castlehaven), K Histon (Cobh), R Cahalane (Sliabh Rua), Conor O’Driscoll (Mizen Rovers), P O’Brien (Bandon), D O’Driscoll (Clann nan Gael), A Lyne (St Finbarr’s), J Moynihan (Canovee), M Prendergast (Ballincollig).

Verdict: Kerry

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Austin Stack ParkPlace: TraleePlace: Páirc Uí RinnPerson: KerryPerson: Dylan QuinnPerson: Kevin FlahivePerson: Kieran HistonPerson: Niall HayesPerson: Sean WhitePerson: Rickard CahalanePerson: Conor KingstonPerson: Ryan HarkinPerson: Peter O’NeillPerson: Richard O’SullivanPerson: Don O’DriscollPerson: Aidan MoynihanPerson: Conor O’DriscollPerson: Kevin ShanahanPerson: Conor JordanPerson: Austin StacksPerson: Mickey Ned O’SullivanPerson: Barry O’SullivanPerson: Shane O’ConnorPerson: O’ConnorPerson: ShanahanPerson: O’SullivanPerson: S RyanPerson: RathmorePerson: ST DillonPerson: C Ó LúingPerson: P O ConchuirPerson: M FlahertyPerson: G HoranPerson: B SugurePerson: RenardPerson: É Ó ConchúirPerson: K ShanahanPerson: ArdfertPerson: D ForanPerson: St Senan’sPerson: J SavagePerson: Kerins O’RahillysPerson: T Ó SéPerson: C KeanePerson: Killarney LegionPerson: C JordanPerson: K SpillanePerson: TemplenoePerson: D O’SheaPerson: BallydonoghuePerson: S O’ConnorPerson: John MitchelsPerson: B O’SullivanPerson: DinglePerson: F CliffordPerson: K MurphyPerson: P CarrollPerson: M BurnsPerson: Dr CrokesPerson: J O’KellyPerson: T BrosnanPerson: A CaseyPerson: M McSweeneyPerson: D QuinnPerson: K FlahivePerson: DouglasPerson: S WhitePerson: ClonakiltyPerson: S CroninPerson: RANGERSPerson: K O’NeillPerson: GlenvilePerson: R HarkinPerson: MallowPerson: C KingstonPerson: R O’SullivanPerson: K O’ConnorPerson: K CreminPerson: M CahalanePerson: A MoynihanPerson: J BushePerson: RoversPerson: Colm O’DriscollPerson: K HistonPerson: RPerson: P O’BrienPerson: D O’DriscollPerson: A LynePerson: J MoynihanPerson: M PrendergastOrganisation: RebelsOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: St Brendan’sOrganisation: An GhaeltachtOrganisation: WatervilleOrganisation: NewcestownOrganisation: St Finbarr’sOrganisation: NemoOrganisation: KilmacabeaOrganisation: IlenOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: CobhOrganisation: CahalaneOrganisation: Sliabh RuaOrganisation: Mizen RoversOrganisation: BandonOrganisation: Clann nan GaelOrganisation: CanoveeOrganisation: Ballincollig
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.219 s