Tipperary back in promotion race

Tipperary 0-15 Limerick 0-09

Tipp won for the third successive game as the Shannonsiders finally tasted defeat after a run of four successive victories.

Limerick boss Maurice Horan watched his side miss two penalties and fumed: “We were going around saying that we were promoted and it was just a mathematical formality more or less.”

Barry Grogan was his side’s leading scorer and after Limerick stormed into a 0-4 to 0-1 lead, the visitors rallied to lead 0-7 to 0-5 at half-time. Eoghan O’Connor’s brace of points early in the second-half brought Limerick level again in front of 585 spectators but once Tipp regained the lead, they would not be caught.

Scorers for Limerick: G Collins, E O’Connor & I Ryan (2f), 0-2 each, S O’Carroll (45), J Riordan & L O’Dwyer, 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: B Grogan 0-5 (0-4f, 0-1 pen), C Sweeney (2f), B Fox, P Acheson & M Quinlivan 0-2 each, G Hannigan & L McGrath, 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: B Scanlon; C Coady, J McCarthy, M O’Riordan; S Lavin, P Browne, P Ranahan; D Treacey, T Lee; J O’Meara, J Riordan, S O’Carroll; G Collins, E O’Connor, I Ryan.

Subs: L O’Dwyer for Coady (20) D O’Sullivan for Scanlon (39), S Buckley for O’Carroll (46), I Corbett for Treacey (54), D Quaid for O’Riordan (63).

TIPPERARY: P Fitzgerald; A Morrissey, P Codd, C McDonald; J Coghlan, R Costigan, D Leahy; P Acheson, G Hannigan; B Fox, H Coghlan, A Matassa; M Quinlivan, B Grogan, C Sweeney.

Subs: L Egan for Morrissey (22), B Mulvihill for Matassa (44), D Lowry for Sweeney (47), L McGrath for Fox (63), T Dalton for Quinlivan (70).

Referee: D Brazil (Offaly).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up