Counihan sticks for trip to Omagh

Conor Counihan has named the same team that escaped from Newry with two points last weekend for this Sunday’s Division 1 trip to Omagh.

Counihan sticks for trip to Omagh

Without the U21s again, who line out against Kerry next Wednesday, the same personnel have been chosen with Graham Canty continuing to partner Aidan Walsh in midfield. Daniel Goulding and Patrick Kelly are still sidelined with injuries.

Tyrone make five changes from the team that beat Donegal last weekend. Conor Gormley, Cathal McCarron, Colm Cavanagh, Kyle Coney and Ronan O’Neill come in for Justin McMahon, Conor Clarke, Michael Murphy, Conor McAliskey and Mark Donnelly.

Meanwhile, Armagh will be without Jamie Clarke for their last three league games as he will be away travelling.

He will line out against Derry in Celtic Park tomorrow evening but flies out next week, missing games against Louth, Westmeath and Galway, returning for the Ulster preliminary round game against Cavan on May 19.

He said: “It’s only a holiday. I’m going Melbourne and Sydney and then on to Brazil and Argentina.”

Derry manager Brian McIver has earmarked Clarke as the danger man ahead of the Division 2 clash.

“The name which always springs to mind when people think of the present day Armagh is that of Jamie Clarke. Clarke would be among the top forwards in the country, and on his day is electric,” he said. “We know the all-round threat he poses and that was evident last day out against Longford when he returned to scoring ways the week after winning an inter-provincial medal.”

CORK (SF v Tyrone): K O’Halloran; M Shields, E O’Mahony, E Cadogan; T Clancy (Fermoy), N O’Leary, J O’Sullivan; G Canty, A Walsh; F Goold, M Collins, P Kerrigan; D O’Connor, C Sheehan, C O’Neill.

Subs: A Quirke, P Kissane, J McLoughlin, B Shanahan, C O’Driscoll, J Fitzpatrick, A O’Sullivan, L Shorten, B O’Driscoll.

TYRONE (SF v Cork): N Morgan; A McCrory, C Gormley, C McCarron; R McKenna, Joe McMahon, R McNamee; C Cavanagh, S Cavanagh; P McNiece, P Harte, Matthew Donnelly; K Coney, S O’Neill, R O’Neill.

ARMAGH (SF v Derry): P McEvoy; J Morgan, J Donnelly, D McKenna; A Kernan, B Donaghy, C McKeever; J Lavery, S Harold; K Dyas, J Hanratty, C Rafferty; J Clarke, S Forker, G McParland.

DERRY (SF v Armagh): T Mallon; G O’Kane, C McKaigue, D McBride; C Kielt, M Lynch, SL McGoldrick; Patsy Bradley, PJ McCloskey; B McGoldrick, J Kielt, E Lynn; B Heron, E McGuckin, L Kennedy.

GALWAY (SF v Longford): J Egan; J Duane, F Hanley, G Sweeney; G Bradshaw, G O’Donnell, G Sice; N Coleman, A Griffin; J O’Brien, P Conroy, M Boyle; E Concannon, M Meehan, M Martin.

More in this section

courtsgaafootballplace: omaghplace: newryplace: celtic parkplace: westmeathplace: melbourneplace: sydneyplace: brazilplace: argentinaperson: counihanperson: conor counihanperson: graham cantyperson: aidan walshperson: daniel gouldingperson: patrick kellyperson: tyroneperson: conor gormleyperson: cathal mccarronperson: colm cavanaghperson: kyle coneyperson: ronan o’neillperson: justin mcmahonperson: conor clarkeperson: michael murphyperson: conor mcaliskeyperson: mark donnellyperson: jamie clarkeperson: brian mciverperson: clarkeperson: corkperson: k o’halloranperson: m shieldsperson: e o’mahonyperson: e cadoganperson: t clancyperson: fermoyperson: n o’learyperson: j o’sullivanperson: g cantyperson: a walshperson: f gooldperson: m collinsperson: p kerriganperson: d o’connorperson: c sheehanperson: c o’neillperson: a quirkeperson: p kissaneperson: j mcloughlinperson: b shanahanperson: c o’driscollperson: j fitzpatrickperson: a o’sullivanperson: l shortenperson: b o’driscollperson: n morganperson: a mccroryperson: c gormleyperson: c mccarronperson: r mckennaperson: joe mcmahonperson: r mcnameeperson: c cavanaghperson: s cavanaghperson: p mcnieceperson: p harteperson: matthew donnellyperson: k coneyperson: s o’neillperson: r o’neillperson: p mcevoyperson: j morganperson: j donnellyperson: d mckennaperson: a kernanperson: b donaghyperson: c mckeeverperson: j laveryperson: s haroldperson: k dyasperson: j hanrattyperson: c raffertyperson: j clarkeperson: s forkerperson: g mcparlandperson: derryperson: t mallonperson: g o’kaneperson: c mckaigueperson: d mcbrideperson: c kieltperson: m lynchperson: sl mcgoldrickperson: patsy bradleyperson: pj mccloskeyperson: b mcgoldrickperson: j kieltperson: e lynnperson: b heronperson: e mcguckinperson: l kennedyperson: j eganperson: j duaneperson: f hanleyperson: g sweeneyperson: g bradshawperson: g o’donnellperson: g siceperson: n colemanperson: a griffinperson: j o’brienperson: p conroyperson: m boyleperson: e concannonperson: m meehanperson: m martinorganisation: kerryorganisation: donegalorganisation: armaghorganisation: derryorganisation: cavanorganisation: longfordorganisation: sforganisation: tyroneorganisation: cork
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up