Harnedy makes point in Cork romp

Cork 4-16 Cork IT 1-17

The St Ita’s man impressed at left-half forward especially in the first half as the students started brightly. David Drake and Daire Lordan were key for the college side in that opening spell but goals from Cork’s Anthony Nash (penalty) and Paudie O’Sullivan pushed the county side 2-2 to 0-5 ahead and a second goal from O’Sullivan gave them a 3-5 to 0-8 interval lead.

The relocation of Lorcán McLoughlin to midfield at the start of the second half helped CIT’s cause, and within three minutes he produced an excellent overhead flick with his back to goal to send the ball past Nash to make it 3-6 to 1-9.That would be as close as CIT would come, however, as Cork took charge with Conor O’Sullivan, Christopher Joyce and newcomer James O’Donovan to the fore.

Daniel Kearney, assisted at midfield by Carrigaline’s Robert O’Shea, was another who enjoyed a good game, and in attack Stephen Moylan and Fintan O’Leary found their range.

Scorers for Cork: P O’Sullivan 2-1, S Harnedy 0-6 (0-2f), S Moylan 1-3, A Nash 1-0 penalty, B Corry 0-2, F O’Leary, D Kearney, P Horgan, C Lehane 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork IT: L McLoughlin 1-1, M O’Sullivan 0-4, D Lordan, D Drake 0-3 each, J Sheedy 0-2f, JM O’Callaghan, S O’Brien, P O’Keeffe, Coughlan (0-1f) 0-1 each.

CORK: A Nash (Kanturk); J O’Donovan (Bandon), S McDonnell (Glen Rovers), C O’Sullivan (Sarsfields); S O’Neill (Bishopstown), C Joyce (Na Piarsaigh), T Kenny (Grenagh); R O’Shea (Carrigaline), D Kearney (Sarsfields); B Corry (Ballymartle), S Moylan (Douglas), S Harnedy (St Ita’s); L O’Farrell (Midleton), F O’Leary (Ballinhassig), P O’Sullivan (Cloyne).

Subs: P Horgan (Glen Rovers) for O’Sullivan (42), C Lehane (Midleton) for O’Leary (53).

CORK IT (Cork clubs unless stated): O Webb O’Rourke (Kilmallock, Limerick); R Power (Carrigwtohill), M Aherne (Ballinhassig), B O’Sullivan (Fermoy); K O’Donnell (Kilmallock, Limerick), L McLoughlin (Kanturk), T Lawrence (Brian Dillons); N O’Doherty (Grenagh), N Kelly (Mayfield); A Walsh (Killeagh), M O’Sullivan (Tracton), J Coughlan (Newtownshandrum); J Sheedy (Portroe, Tipperary), D Drake (Carrigaline), D Lordan (Courcey Rovers).

Subs: J Goggin (St Finbarr’s) for O’Donnell (21), S Nyhan (Courcey Rovers) for Webb O’Rourke (half-time), S O’Brien (Carrigaline) for Sheedy (35), M Barry (Tracton) for Power (41), JM O’Callaghan (Argideen Rangers) for Walsh (42), P O’Keeffe (Midleton) for Lordan (45), K Horgan (Donoughmore) for B O’Sullivan (51).

Referee: D Copps (Ballyhea).

More in this section

courtsgaaplace: cit sports stadiumperson: harnedyperson: seamus harnedyperson: david drakeperson: daire lordanperson: anthony nashperson: paudie o’sullivanperson: o’sullivanperson: lorcan mcloughlinperson: nashperson: conor o’sullivanperson: christopher joyceperson: james o’donovanperson: daniel kearneyperson: robert o’sheaperson: stephen moylanperson: fintan o’learyperson: s harnedyperson: s moylanperson: aperson: p horganperson: lehaneperson: lperson: m o’sullivanperson: dperson: drakeperson: j sheedyperson: jm o’callaghanperson: s o’brienperson: pperson: coughlanperson: j o’donovanperson: s mcdonnellperson: c o’sullivanperson: s o’neillperson: c joyceperson: piarsaighperson: t kennyperson: r o’sheaperson: d kearneyperson: b corryperson: l o’farrellperson: f o’learyperson: p o’sullivanperson: c lehaneperson: o’learyperson: o webb o’rourkeperson: r powerperson: m aherneperson: b o’sullivanperson: k o’donnellperson: l mcloughlinperson: t lawrenceperson: brian dillonsperson: n o’dohertyperson: n kellyperson: a walshperson: j coughlanperson: d drakeperson: j gogginperson: o’donnellperson: s nyhanperson: webb o’rourkeperson: sheedyperson: m barryperson: powerperson: jmperson: o’callaghanperson: walshperson: p o’keeffeperson: lordanperson: k horganperson: donoughmoreperson: d coppsorganisation: corkorganisation: st itaorganisation: citorganisation: kanturkorganisation: bandonorganisation: glen roversorganisation: sarsfieldsorganisation: bishopstownorganisation: naorganisation: grenaghorganisation: carrigalineorganisation: ballymartleorganisation: douglasorganisation: st ita’sorganisation: ballinhassigorganisation: midletonorganisation: kilmallockorganisation: limerickorganisation: carrigwtohillorganisation: fermoyorganisation: mayfieldorganisation: killeaghorganisation: tractonorganisation: newtownshandrumorganisation: portroeorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: courcey roversorganisation: st finbarr’sorganisation: argideen rangersorganisation: ballyhea

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.