Ballyduff book final spot again

Ballyduff (Kerry) 2-13 Ballybrown (Limerick) 0-14 (Aet)

Twelve month ago they lost out to Limerick’s Effin in the provincial decider and now Silvermines of Tipperary stand in their way.

A late goal from Ballyduff’s Gary O’Brien forced extra-time but PJ O’Grady’s men were dominant thereafter with Padraig Boyle and reliable free-taker Bobby O’Sullivan getting the vital scores.

O’Sullivan finished with 1-9 and his first half goal had the sides all square (0-7 to 1-4) at the interval.

At the start of the second half the Limerick outfit raced into a 0-11 to 1-4 lead with Lee Doolin, Richie Kenny and free-taker O’Connor among the scores.

Two Bobby O’Sullivan frees settled the Kerry challenge but Shane Kenny and O’Connor pointed to put Ballybrown 0-13 to 1-6 clear with seven minutes to play.

Then came the second Ballyduff goal and what a score it was with O’Brien finishing to the net after a following move that saw Aidan Boyle supply the final pass.

It was then left to O’Sullivan to force extra-time with an injury-time free, 0-13 to 2-7.

Ballyduff certainly had the momentum and two O’Sullivan frees midway through the first period of extra time seized the initiative.

Then came a flurry of points in injury-time at the end of the 10-minute period with Padraig Boyle (two) and O’Sullivan (free) increasing the lead to five points, 2-12 to 0-13.

There was to be no way back and Ballybrown’s only score of extra-time came from sub Andrew Cliffe in the opening minute of the second period of extra-time. Then in the closing minutes Ballyduff goalkeeper PJ O’Gorman cleared off his line and the deal was done.

Scorers for Ballyduff: B O’Sullivan 1-9 (8fs, 1 65), G O’Brien 1-0, P Boyle 0-2, M Boyle, PJ Connolly 0-1 each.

Scorers for Ballybrown: A O’Connor 0-6 (5fs), L Doolin 0-2, S Foster, B Griffin, M Kiely, R Kenny, S Kenny, A Cliffe, 0-1 each.

BALLYDUFF: PJ O’Gorman; D O’Grady, L Boyle, J Bowler; J Bunyan, P O’Grady, D Goulding; B O’Grady, P Costello; M Boyle, G O’Brien, PJ Connelly; P Boyle, A Boyle, B O’Sullivan.

Subs: A O’Connor for Goulding (36), T O’Rourke for Connolly (36), M O’Connor for Costello (57), PJ Connolly for B O’Grady (77), P Costello for L Boyle (81).

BALLYBROWN: D Lyons, R Burke, J Kennedy, S O’Reilly; I Burke, R Kenny, D Kenny; S Foster, J Hall; K Loftus, B Griffin, S Kenny; M Kiely, A O’Connor, L Doolin.

Subs: A Roberts for I Burke (24), D Hall for Kiely (39), P Hartigan for Loftus (51), P McCarthy for Doolin (58), A Cliffe for Foster (70), D Hartnett for R Burke (77).

Referee: P Casey (Waterford)

More in this section

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.