Battling Ballybrown never in danger

Ballybrown (Limerick)3-10 Ballinhassig (Cork) 2-7

In this replay in Kilmallock, Ballybrown laid the foundations for victory when building up a 2-7 to 0-5 half-time lead — against the wind.

Despite second half goals from 21metre frees from goalkeeper Martin Coleman, the Cork champions never forced their way back into serious contention.

Indeed they managed just four points from play in the hour’s hurling and registered 11 wides. By comparison Ballybrown had no such difficulty in front of goals.

Freetaker Alan O’Connor ended with 0-12 in the drawn game and this time round landed 1-7.

It was a 7th minute goal from Limerick minor player Bryan Griffin that set the Limerick champions on their way.

Kyle Loftus and Lee Doolan added points and along with O’Connor frees they were 1-6 to 0-4 ahead midway through the first half with Fintan O’Leary notched three from play for Ballinhassig.

The killer blow for Ballinhassig came in first half injury-time when O’Connor blasted a penalty high to the net after tricky corner-forward Michael Kiely was upended.

Ballinhassig got a tonic start to the second half when Coleman came up field to blast a free to the net. But James Hall and O’Connor (frees) maintained the Ballybrown lead that was soon 2-10 to 1-6.

Coleman’s second goal left just it 2-10 to 2-7 with 13 minutes to play, but Ballinhassig weren’t to score from play in the second half and crucially failed to build upon Coleman’s second goal and reduce the deficit beyond a goal.

Sub David Hall scored the third Ballybrown goal in the 59th minute to seal the victory and set up a clash with Kerry champions Ballyduff.

Scores for Ballybrown: A O’Connor 1-7 (0-5f, ’65 1-0pen), B Griffin, D Hall 1-0each, K Loftud, L Doolan, J Hall 0-1 each.

Scores for Ballinhassig: M Coleman 2-0 (2f), F O’Leary 0-4 (1f), D Dineen 0-3 (2f).

BALLYBROWN: D Lyons; R Burke, J Kennedy, S O’Reilly; I Burke, R Kenny, D Kenny; A Roberts, J Hall; K Loftus, B Griffin, S Kenny; M Kiely, A O’Connor, L Doolan.

Subs: S Foster for Roberts (44), D Hall for Doolan (51), E Loftus for K Loftus (55).

BALLINHASSIG: M Coleman; B O’Sullivan, E Finn, M Desmond; M Sheehan, M Ahern, B Lonbard; B Coleman, S McCarthy; D Dineen, P Coomey, S Dineen; P O’Sullivan, F O’Leary, D Duggan.

Subs: M Collins for Duggan, D O’Donovan for D Dineen (both 42), B Hollan for O’Sullivan (56).

Referee: J Ryan (Tipperary).

More in this section

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.