Cork and Wexford share 12 All Stars

All-Ireland champions Wexford and defeated finalists Cork dominated the Camogie All Star awards at Citywest on Saturday night.

Cork and Wexford share 12 All Stars

The pair shared six awards each, with Offaly’s Sheila Sullivan along with Galway pair Niamh Kilkenny and Niamh McGrath grabbing the three remaining places on the team.

Outgoing Wexford boss JJ Doyle collected the O’Neills Manager of the Year Award for the second year in succession. Wexford defenders Claire O’Connor, Catherine O’Loughlin and Deirdre Codd collected awards as did forwards Katrina Parrock, Kate Kelly and All-Ireland final player of the match Ursula Jacob.

It was also a memorable night for the Cork contingent as Gemma O’Connor collected her seventh All Star while the Mackey sisters, Pamela and Katrina, became the first twins to win All Stars. Goalkeeper Aoife Murray, midfielder Jennifer O’Leary and forward Briege Corkery also received awards.

Doyle, who now takes charge of the Wexford U21 hurling side, hopes that the success of the camogie squad will rub off on their male counterparts.

“These girls have left a great legacy behind them and hopefully camogie in Wexford will continue to grow and maybe we’ll win something with the hurlers as well.

“I think I learned from the camogie girls that every team in the country has talented players, but it takes getting a little bit more out of them to win an All-Ireland.

“You have to believe in yourself, you have to believe in your team-mates. Maybe in Wexford we have been a bit negative and been a bit too down.

“It’s time to start believing in ourselves a bit more and hopefully from what the girls have achieved the lads can continue on.”

2012 ALL STAR TEAM: A Murray (Cork); C O’Connor (Wexford), C O’Loughlin (Wexford), S Sullivan (Offaly); P Mackey (Cork), G O’Connor (Cork), D Codd (Wexford); N Kilkenny (Galway), J O’Leary (Cork); K Kelly (Wexford), N McGrath (Galway), B Corkery (Cork); K Mackey (Cork), K Parrock (Wexford), U Jacob (Wexford).

2012 SOARING STAR TEAM: E Mangan (Meath); K Tinnelly (Down), C Coffey (Meath), F O’Neill (Meath); L McCrickard (Down), S Anne Fitzgerald (Laois), A Thompson (Meath); C McGourty (Down), K Troy (Meath); S O’Carroll (Kildare), J Dolan (Meath), A Donnelly (Meath); N Mallon (Down), S Hackett (Meath), S-Louise Carr (Down).

2012 INTERMEDIATE SOARING STARS: Sinéad Cassidy (Derry), Katie McAnenly (Derry), Sarah Noone (Galway).

2012 MANAGER OF THE YEAR: JJ Doyle, (Wexford).

More in this section

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.