Dolan delivers Brigid’s hat-trick

St Brigid’s 2-08 Padraig Pearses 0-09

Dolan’s two goals proved decisive, but it was a far from convincing performance by Kevin McStay’s charges.

Leading 0-4 to 0-2 after 18 minutes, Dolan struck for his first goal when he finished a brilliant move involving Damien Kelleher and Ronan Stack. Only seconds earlier, a last ditch block by Darragh Donnelly denied Pearses’ Shane Carty what seemed like a certain goal.

By the 39th minute, points from Karol Mannion, Senan Kilbride and Dolan propelled Brigid’s 1-7 to 0-4 clear. But the introduction of Sean Fahy sparked Pearses into life and his four points between the 48th and 58th minutes, left just three points in it.

But Pearses were caught on the break and Dolan was on hand to finish coolly to the net to confirm Brigid’s as champions.

Scorers for St Brigid’s: F Dolan 2-4 (1f), S Kilbride 0-2 (1f), I Kilbride, K Mannion 0-1 each.

Scorers for Padraig Pearses: S Fahy 0-4 (3fs), A Feehily (2fs), E Kelly (1f, 1 45) 0-2 each, N Daly 0-1.

ST BRIGID’S: C Sheehy; R Stack, N Grehan, J Murray; P Domican, D Donnelly, I Kilbride; K Mannion, G Dolan; G Cunniffe, R Blaine, D Kelleher; S Kilbride, C McHugh, F Dolan.

Subs: C Sheehy for McHugh (ht), D Dolan for Kelleher (43), G Aherne for G Dolan (48), P Kelly for Blaine (56), D Sheehy for I Kilbride (60).

PADRAIG PEARSES: D Donnellan; S Dolan, P Kelly, D Murray; C Daly, E Barrett, R Daly; A Feehily, N Carty; E Kelly, D Duffy, S Carty; J Whyte, N Daly, P Corbett.

Subs: S Fahy for S Carty (45), D Grehan for Whyte (45), M Donoghue for Feehily (51), D Whyte for R Daly (60).

Referee: P Neilan.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on