Newcastle West back for final tilt

Newcastle West 1-08 Ballysteen 0-09

The winners led by two points (0-7 to 0-5) at the break before James Kelly fisted a rebound to the net to put five points between the sides.

Ballysteen battled bravely to the end with Danny Neville, Ray Hayes and Declan Nash to the fore but the experience of Newcastle West saw them hold out.

Scorers for Newcastle West: J Kelly 1-1, T Quilligan 0-3 (1f), Mike Quilligan (1f), Stephen Kelly, S McAuliffe, M O’Keeffe 0-1 each.

Scorers for Ballysteen: D Neville 0-4 (4f), R Hayes 0-2, B Hayes (1f), P Ranahan, D Nash 0-1 each.

NEWCASTLEWEST: JJ Sheehy; M O’Keeffe, D Woods, M Dowling; S McAuliffe, S Browne, P Hannan; I Corbett, S Nix; Stephen Kelly, S Lyons, J Lee; T Quilligan, J Kelly, M Quilligan.

Subs: B O’Doherty for S Lyons (ht), Shane Kelly for J Kelly (45m), G Reidy for J Lee (51m), B O’Sullivan for S McAuliffe (57m).

BALLYSTEEN: D Fitzgerald; K McMahon, P Moran, R Somers; J O’Meara, S Gallagher, P Ranahan; R Hayes, P Vaughan; D Nash, S Hallinan, M Neville; D Neville, B Hayes, A Ryan.

Sub: J Collins for S Hallinan.

Referee: M Meade (Ballylanders).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd