Urhan snatch glory from Garnish

Urhan 2-7 Garnish 2-6

Adrigole hosted a decider that had also opened in spectacular fashion with a goal from the losers inside 30 seconds. Straight from the throw-in, Ollie O’Sullivan began the move that ended with Alan O’Sullivan netting but the losers then managed just one more point in the first half.

Meanwhile the defending champions, who had Conchúr Harrington pointing an early free, had to wait until the 22nd minute before the hard working Martin O’Neill kicked the first of his two points.

Once they had discovered the route to goal, quick points from Ian O’Sullivan and John O’Dwyer enabled Urhan to finish the opening half on level terms; 0-4 to 1-1.

A Donncha Lowney free edged Garnish back in front from a 32nd minute free and they were then denied a second goal by a tremendous save from Seán Daly who somehow managed to keep Alan O’Sullivan from netting.

It was a crucial moment in a final where Urhan conjured up their first goal soon after when impressive substitute Vinny Lehane paved the way for Martin McCarthy to fire the winners into a two point lead.

By the threequarter stage, Urhan had eased 1-6 to 1-3 in front and another point from Vinny Lehane increased their advantage before Donncha Lowney split the posts to kick start a Garnish revival.

This was boosted by a goal from the penalty spot by Hugh O’Sullivan, after Donncha Lowney was upended with eight minutes of normal time to play.

Fintan O’Sullivan and Finbarr Sheehan tacked on what appeared to be insurance points for Garnish until Lehane stole the laurels with the late, spectacular winner for the holders.

Scorers for Urhan: V Lehane 1-1, M McCarthy 1-0, M O’Neill 0-2, I O’Sullivan, J O’Dwyer, E Lowney, C Harrington (f) 0-1 each.

Garnish: A O’Sullivan 1-0, H O’Sullivan 1-0 (p), D Lowney 0-2 (0-1f), O O’Sullivan, J Harrington, F O’Sullivan, F Sheehan 0-1 each.

URHAN: S Daly; B Healy, M O’Shea, PJ Cadogan; L Daly, E Lowney, J Dwyer; M McCarthy, M O’Shea; M O’Neill, I O’Sullivan, E Lowney; C Harrington, F Dwyer, S O’Sullivan.

GARNISH: M O’Sullivan; B Walsh, P O’Sullivan, E Murphy; D O’Sullivan, J Harrington, H O’Sullivan; O O’Sullivan, B Terry O’Sullivan; D Lowney, F Sheehan, C O’Neill; A O’Sullivan, P Murphy, P O’Neill.

Referee: S O’Shea, Tuosist.

More in this section

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.