Canty back in defence to boost Cork

All-Ireland winning captain from 2010 Graham Canty has been restored to the Cork starting line-up for Sunday’s quarter-final with Kildare.

Canty is named at centre-back, with Eoin Cotter making way from the team that defeated Clare in the Munster final.

Kildare boss Kieran McGeeney has plumped for the same starting 15 that pummelled Sligo last weekend.

Meanwhile, Kerry boss Jack O’Connor has named an unchanged side for the third week in a row, with flying forward Darran O’Sullivan held in reserve once again as the Kingdom prepare for a titanic collision with Ulster champions Donegal on Sunday.

Meanwhile, Eoghan O’Gara has been named in the Dublin starting line-up for tomorrow’s All-Ireland SFC quarter-final against Laois at Croke Park.

O’Gara scored 1-5 against Laois in their Allianz National Football League game and replaces Kevin McManamon in the only change from the side that beat Meath in the Leinster final.

Footballer of the Year Alan Brogan had to come off with a groin problem in the provincial decider but he has returned to full fitness and is named at centre forward for the All-Ireland champions. Diarmuid Connolly is back after suspension but starts on the bench.

Elsewhere, James Horan has kept faith with the Mayo team that won the Connacht final for tomorrow’s last eight clash with Down.

Midfielder Aidan O’Shea had declared himself fit to start but will be held in reserve.

CORK (SFC v Kildare): A Quirke; R Carey, M Shields, E Cadogan; P Kissane, G Canty, N O’Leary; A O’Connor, A Walsh; F Goold, C Sheehan, P Kerrigan; C O’Neill, D O’Connor, N Murphy.

KILDARE (SFC v Cork): S Connolly; O Lyons, P Kelly, H McGrillen; E Doyle, M O’Flaherty, E Bolton; M Foley, R Kelly; E O’Flaherty, M Conway, J Doyle; J Kavanagh, T O’Connor, A Smith.

KERRY (SFC v Donegal): B Kealy; M Ó Sé, A O’Mahony, S Enright; T Ó Sé, E Brosnan, K Young; A Maher, B Sheehan; P Galvin, Declan O’Sullivan, D Walsh; J O’Donoghue, C Cooper, K Donaghy.

DUBLIN (SF v Laois): S Cluxton; M Fitzsimons; R O’Carroll, P McMahon; J McCarthy, K Nolan, C O’Sullivan; E Fennell, D Bastick; P Flynn, A Brogan, B Cullen; B Brogan, MD Macauley, E O’Gara.

MAYO (SFC v Down): D Clarke; K Keane, G Cafferky, K Higgins; L Keegan, D Vaughan, C Boyle; B Moran, D Geraghty; K McLoughlin, C O’Connor, A Dillon; E Varley, A Moran, J Doherty.

MAYO (MFC v Tipperary): C O’Malley; J Geraghty, S Moran, M Plunkett; P Durcan, C Burke, K Lynch; B Mullen, A Gallagher; E Lavin, S Coen, D O’Connor; J Quinn, S Regan, S Hennelly.

More in this section

courtsgaaplace: sligoplace: croke parkperson: cantyperson: graham cantyperson: eoin cotterperson: kieran mcgeeneyperson: jack o’connorperson: darran o’sullivanperson: eoghan o’garaperson: o’garaperson: kevin mcmanamonperson: alan broganperson: diarmuid connollyperson: james horanperson: aidan o’sheaperson: corkperson: a quirkeperson: r careyperson: m shieldsperson: e cadoganperson: p kissaneperson: g cantyperson: n o’learyperson: a o’connorperson: a walshperson: f gooldperson: c sheehanperson: p kerriganperson: c o’neillperson: d o’connorperson: n murphyperson: s connollyperson: o lyonsperson: p kellyperson: h mcgrillenperson: e doyleperson: m o’flahertyperson: e boltonperson: m foleyperson: r kellyperson: e o’flahertyperson: m conwayperson: j doyleperson: j kavanaghperson: t o’connorperson: a smithperson: kerryperson: b kealyperson: m ó séperson: a o’mahonyperson: s enrightperson: t ó séperson: e brosnanperson: k youngperson: a maherperson: b sheehanperson: p galvinperson: declan o’sullivanperson: d walshperson: j o’donoghueperson: c cooperperson: k donaghyperson: dublinperson: s cluxtonperson: m fitzsimonsperson: r o’carrollperson: p mcmahonperson: j mccarthyperson: k nolanperson: c o’sullivanperson: e fennellperson: d bastickperson: p flynnperson: a broganperson: b cullenperson: b broganperson: md macauleyperson: e o’garaperson: mayoperson: d clarkeperson: k keaneperson: g cafferkyperson: k higginsperson: l keeganperson: d vaughanperson: c boyleperson: b moranperson: d geraghtyperson: k mcloughlinperson: c o’connorperson: a dillonperson: e varleyperson: a moranperson: j dohertyperson: c o’malleyperson: j geraghtyperson: s moranperson: m plunkettperson: p durcanperson: c burkeperson: k lynchperson: b mullenperson: a gallagherperson: e lavinperson: s coenperson: j quinnperson: s reganperson: s hennellyevent: munsterevent: all-ireland sfc quarter-finalevent: allianz national football leagueevent: leinsterevent: connacht finalorganisation: cork all-irelandorganisation: corkorganisation: kildareorganisation: clareorganisation: kerryorganisation: ulsterorganisation: donegalorganisation: dublinorganisation: laoisorganisation: meathorganisation: mayoorganisation: sfcorganisation: sf

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.