Tyrone stand firm to claim 23rd title

Tyrone were crowned Ulster minor football champions for the 23rd time, following a composed and assured performance at Clones yesterday.

Wing-forward Kieran McGeary and full-back Padraig Hampsey starred as Tyrone held off Monaghan’s gutsy challenge to take a deserved three points win.

Monaghan carried the greater scoring threat in the early stages, taking a 0-3 to 0-1 lead, with midfielder James McElroy hitting the pick of their scores. But Tyrone, with Anthony Devlin immense at midfield, took control, hitting six points in eight minutes to go five clear.

Monaghan’s Mark Magee had a shot saved off the line by corner-back Ruairi Mullan, but the Farney lads hit the net in the 25th minute.

Keenan was heavily involved in the sweeping move with started deep in defence, and it was Conor McCarthy who volleyed home in spectacular fashion after his initial shot had been parried by Daire Martin.

Tyrone led 0-8 to 1-4 at the interval, but fell behind to a well taken Ryan McAnespie point. Just as they had done in the first half, however, the Red Hands got a grip on the central area to drive on with another series of scores, many of them created by the hard-working Kieran McGeary.

Bradley brought his tally to three and James McGahan converted a couple of frees as they pulled clear.

Scorers for Tyrone: M Bradley, J McGahan (3f) 0-3 each, S Hackett, K McGeary 0-2 each, A Devlin, P McKenna, M Cassidy, C Harvey 0-1 each Scorers for Monaghan: C McCarthy 1-2 (0-2f), P Keenan 0-3 (3f), J McElroy, C Hughes, R McAnespie 0-1 each.

TYRONE: D Martin, R Mullan, P Hampsey, C Harvey, C Corr, C Mallon, P McKenna, R Brennan, A Devlin, K McGeary, C O’Neill, R Sludden, M Bradley, J McGahan, S Hackett.

Subs: M Cassidy for O’Neill, C McLaughlin for Mallon, D McNulty for McKenna, R McGlone for McGahan, S Molloy for Corr.

MONAGHAN: C Forde, F Malone, S Buckley, R Wylie, B Greenan, B Hanratty, S Conlon, J McElroy, M Magee, C McCarthy, F McGeough, D McAllister, A Treanor, R McAnespie, P Keenan.

Subs: F McMahon for Treanor, D Ward for McGeough, C Hughes for McElroy, D Dolan for McAllister.

Referee: N Mooney (Cavan).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up