Easy for Loughmore-Castleiney

Mid Tipp SHC title holders, Loughmore-Castleiney, blitzed Tipperary champions Drom-Inch in this Mid Tipperary senior hurling semi-final replay at Templetuohy on Saturday.

Inspired by top drawer displays from county star Noel McGrath and his county U21 cousin Liam, Loughmore destroyed Drom-Inch in a second quarter rampage that yielded 1-8 to put them in an almost uncatchable position at half-time when leading 2-14 to 0-7.

Drom-Inch were without James Woodlock and David Collins, both injured, and despite conceding a fifth minute goal to Evan Sweeney, they were doing well when trailing by just that goal at the end of the first quarter (0-5 to 1-5), playing into the breeze.

With the McGraths leading the charge, Loughmore took over, hitting eight points to Drom’s two, but the icing on the cake was Cian Hennessy’s goal for Loughmore in the 28th minute which gave them a 2-14 to 0-7 interval lead.

It was going to take a mighty second-half effort from Drom-Inch to turn this game about, but it never materialised, despite the best efforts of county man Seamus Callanan.

Loughmore were cruising 2-19 to 0-12 in the 51st minute when Liam McGrath crowned a fine personal performance with their third goal.

Loughmore-Castleiney who meet Thurles Sarsfields in the Mid SHC final next Sunday in Boherlahan, looked unbeatable. Besides the McGraths, they had key performers in Tom King, Evan Sweeney and David Kennedy.

Seamus Callanan did his utmost to keep the Drom-Inch challenge going, with most assistance coming from Enda Walshe, Johnny Ryan, David Butler and Seamus Butler.

Scorers for Loughmore-Castleiney: L McGrath (1-8, 0-8fs); E Sweeney (1-3); C Hennessy(1-0) N McGrath(0-4); A McGrath, T King, J McGrath(0-2) each; L Treacy, C McGrath, (0-1) each;

Drom-Inch scorers:S Callanan (0-7, 3fs) Johnny Ryan(0-3); James Ryan, J Moloney, S Butler, P Lupton, D Butler, K Butler(0-1) each;

LOUGHMORE-CASTLEINEY: J Scully; T McGrath, D Bourke, W Eviston; A McGrath, E Connolly, T King; N McGrath, L Treacy; E Sweeney, C McGrath, J McGrath; L McGrath, D Kennedy, C Hennessy.

Subs:J Ryan for J McGrath; T Long for King; L Egan for Kennedy.

DROM-INCH:D Young; P Stapleton, M Butler, M Costelloe; E Walsh, E Buckley, James Ryan; Johnny Ryan, J Moloney; S Callanan, P Collins, S Butler; P Lupton, D Butler, K Butler.

Subs:S Hassett for K Butler; M Ryan for Lupton; S Delaney for Stapleton.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up