Meath march into Leinster final

Meath marched into the Leinster minor football final following this comprehensive victory over Westmeath at Cusack Park, Mullingar, on Saturday.

The Royals led at half-time (2-8 to 1-4), the goals coming from Barry Dardis and Fiachra Ward.

Any hopes of a Westmeath comeback were dashed when Meath keeper Jack Hannigan saved Ger Leech’s 48th minute in the 48th minute and the impressive Dardis grabbed Meath’s third goal in the 57th minute.

Meath’s Conor O’Brien and Westmeath’s Ray Connellan were sent off for straight red card offences, while Westmeath’s Bryan O’Donohue was sent off for a second yellow card.

Scorers for Meath: B. Dardis (2-2), F. Ward (1-5, 0-5 frees), C. O’Sullivan (0-3), J. McEntee (0-2, 0-1 free), A. Flanagan (0-1), P. Harnan (0-1).

Scorers for Westmeath: L. Loughlin (1-2), G. Leech (0-4, 0-2 frees), A. McGivney (0-1).

MEATH: J. Hannigan; J. O’ Malley, B. Power, S. Gallagher; D. Smyth, C. Carton, R. Ó Coileán; P. Harnan (capt), A. Flanagan; C. O’Sullivan, J. Daly, J. McEntee; B. Dardis, S. Coogan, F. Ward.

Subs: C. Gillespie for C. Carton (42), C. O’Brien for S. Coogan (49), N. Kane for J. O’Malley (58), C. Ó Griofa for B. Dardis (58), A. Garry for C. O’Sullivan (59).

WESTMEATH: B. Doyle; E. O’Reilly, R. Gorman, B. O’Donohue; K. Daly, L. Corless, R. Caffrey; A. Curley, D. Gaye; T. Watts, G. Leech, A. McGivney; L. Loughlin, L. Dolan, D. McDermott.

Subs: P.J. Maguire for D. Gaye (9), R. Connellan for A. McGivney (27), J. Barrett for A. Curley (half-time), S. Dempsey for D. McDermott (42), T.J Fox for T. Watts (59).

Referee: Stephen Johnson (Louth).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.189 s