Mulcahy spearheads Cork drive to Munster decider

Cork secured their place in the TG4 Munster Senior Championship final last night with an 11-point win over Clare in Doneraile.

The Banner started brightly with a free from the impressive Niamh O’Dea but when Cork went in front in the sixth minute, 0-3 to 0-2, they never lost their lead.

Clare came close but goalkeeper Elaine Harte superbly saved an O’Dea shot mid-way through the first-half which, ultimately, was the turning point.

The Banner struggled to keep tabs on Valerie Mulcahy, who notched 1-6 in the opening half, including a penalty on the 21st minute when referee Richie O’Connor deemed Orlagh Farmer had been pulled down in the small square. Mulcahy netted. However, on the resultant kick-out, Farmer found herself in the sin-bin.

Points by Ailish Considine kept Clare in touching distance. However they would still trail at the turnaround, 0-5 to 1-8.

Clare found themselves down a player on the restart after corner-back Michelle Delaney was sin-binned at the end of the first-half. However, that was soon cancelled out as Cork’s Ciara O’Sullivan suffered the same fate in the 33rd minute.

The champions held it together with some crisp passing and Nollaig Cleary, Juliet Murphy, O’Sullivan, Oralgh Farmer and sub Emma Farmer all made the scoresheet.

Clare now take on Kerry next Wednesday night to decide who will face the Rebels in the Munster final in Páirc Uí Rinn on Saturday, July 14.

* The Cork U14s face Mayo in the All-Ireland final in Birr today at 4pm.

Scorers for Cork: V Mulcahy 1-8 (1-0 pen; 0-4f), N Cleary 0-3, C O’Sullivan and O Farmer 0-2 each, J Murphy 0-2 (0-1f), R Ní Bhuachalla and E Farmer 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: N O’Dea and A Considine 0-3 (0-2f) each, N Keane 0-2 (0-1f), L Henchy 0-2, F Lafferty 0-1.

CORK: E Harte; AM Walsh, D O’Reilly, R Buckley (C);B Corkery, B Stack, G O’Flynn; J Murphy, N Kelly; O Farmer, C O’Sullivan, A Walsh; N Cleary, V Mulcahy, R Ní Bhuachalla. Subs: G Kearney for N Kelly (35m), E Farmer for A Walsh (52m), A Sheehan for B Corkery (54), A Barrett for R Buckley and R O’Sullivan for G O’Flynn (57).

CLARE: E O’Driscoll (C); M Delaney, L Kelly, L Ryan; R O’Looney, L Henchy, S Kelly; M Considine, E O’Connor; N Carroll, N Keane, S Higgins; F Lafferty, N O’Dea, A Considine.

Subs: M Kelly for S Higgins (HT), S Harvey for F Lafferty and B Kelly for M Delaney (45), C Hester for M Considine (54) and A Murphy for S Kelly (63).

Referee: R O’Connor (Tipperary).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up