McCarthy and Fleming see Kilcummin through

Kilcummin booked their place in the third round of the Kerry SFC after overcoming Shannon Rangers in a tight encounter in Tarbert on Saturday night.

The East Kerry side started the game better and held a 5-3 lead within 10 minutes of the tip off, after points from Kevin Gorman, D J Fleming, Kieran Murphy (two) and Shane McSweeney had cancelled out Mikey Boyle (two) and Eddie Mangan’s efforts for Rangers.

Kilcummin could have finished the game off in the first 15 minutes, but missed three clear goal scoring opportunities. Yet through the mixture of the woodwork, goal-line clearances and poor finishing, these chances came and went with only a point from Fleming to show for their dominance.

With those missed chances came confidence for Rangers, who found themselves leading 0-7 to 0-6 going into half time after PJ Connolly, Ger O’Sullivan and Mikey Boyle (two) had converted their scores.

The self-belief continued to rise after the break despite conceding an early score to Fleming. Over a six-minute period midway through the second half Rangers found their touch, sending over six points from Tommy Joy, Connolly, Mikey Boyle (two) and O’Sullivan (two) to give them a five-point lead.

Complacency then set in for Rangers as Kilcummin reeled off six unanswered scores from Gary O’Leary, Flemming, Michael McCarthy, John Devane and the truly excellent Kerry minor Murphy to give the EastKerry side the lead.

A late O’Sullivan free looked to have brought extra time to Tarbert but a fantastic long-range point fromex-Kerry star McCarthy and a free kick from the ever-reliable Fleming ensured Kilcummin progress to the next round.

For Rangers, another premature end to a season for a team whose results aren’t matching their talent.

Scorers for Shannon Rangers: G O’Sullivan (3fs), M Boyle (2fs) 0-4 each, E Mangan 0-3, PJ Connolly 0-2, T Joy 0-1.

Scorers for Kilcummin: DJ Fleming 0-5 (3fs), K Murphy 0-4, M McCarthy 0-2, K Gorman, S McSweeney, G O’Leary, C O’Leary, J Devane 0-1 each.

SHANNON RANGERS: S Dee; J Wren, K Wren, S Enright; D Wren, A Lanigan, J King; P Costello, M O’Mahony; G O’Sullivan, M Boyle, PJ Connolly; T Joy, E Doyle, E Mangan.

Subs: P Harrington for M O’Mahony (53), D Enright for S Dee, T O’Rourke for E Doyle (60).

KILCUMMIN: B Kealy; T Brosnan, K McSweeney, S Brosnan; C O’Leary, M McCarthy, Damien O’Leary; S McSweeney, K Gorman; N Duggan, Daniel O’Leary, I Devane; D J Fleming, K Murphy, G O’Leary.

Subs: John Devane for N Duggan (ht), R O’Connor for D O’Leary (40), James Devane for T Brosnan (44), T Cooper for I Devane (44).

Referee: S Joy (Laune Rangers)

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up