Scanlon stars as Kieran’s march on

It took all the experience of man-of-the-match, Seamus Scanlon, and former inter-county colleague Padraig Reidy to see St Kieran’s over the line against West Kerry in this Kerry SFC losers’ round cracker in Ballymacelligott yesterday.

It took extra-time to decide it but West Kerry will rue the absence of Marc Ó Sé and a disallowed second-half goal, when referee Eddie Walsh deemed that Liam Maunsell was inside the square before the ball was kicked.

Space does not allow a complete picture to be painted of the quality and honesty of this contest, as West Kerry lost leading midfielder Micheal O’Shea after just three minutes. But it was Scanlon and Eamon John O’Donoghue who ruled the roost at midfield as St Kieran’s threatened to run riot, as they raced 1-6 to 0-3 clear by the 22nd minute, with Edmund Walsh scoring a cracking goal.

Driven on by Tomás Ó Sé, West Kerry were level by half-time, thanks to three Cathal O’Sullivan points and a James Crean goal.

It was tit-for-tat during the second half with O’Sullivan and Jason Hickson to the fore for West Kerry, while points from Philip O’Connor and Aidan Breen had St Kieran’s 1-13 to 1-11 clear with just three minutes to play.

West Kerry rallied and late points from Jason Hickson and Eoin MacGearailt levelled this contest to force extra time. No-one was complaining about the €8 tariff on the gate. Some value.

St Kieran’s, with Scanlon lording matters at midfield were two in front at half time in extra time, (1-16 to 1-14) with another point from Ballymac’s Aidan Breen, who really caught the eye.

Cathal O’Sullivan kept West Kerry within a point but Reidy and Scanlon drove forward and Edmund Walsh kicked the winning free after Scanlon was fouled.

Scorers for St Kieran’s: E Walsh 1-6 (0-3 frees), T McGoldrick 0-6 (0-4 frees), A Breen 0-2, T Hickey, E J O’Donoghue and P O’Connor 0-1.

West Kerry: C O’Sullivan 0-9 (0-6 frees), J Crean 1-1, J Hickson 0-3 (0-2 ‘45’s, 0-1 free), T Ó Sé, E MacGearailt and T Cavanagh 0-1.

ST KIERAN’S: Sean Óg O Ciardubhain (Cordal); D O’Sullivan (Currow), E Kiely (Brosna), P Galvin (Ballymac); M Galvin (Ballymac), P Reidy (Scartaglin), F McAuliffe (Brosna); S Scanlon (Currow), E J O’Donoghue (Cordal); D Murphy (Scartaglin), E Walsh (Knocknagoshel), A Breen (Ballymac); P O’Connor (Cordal), J Buckley (Currow), T McGoldrick (Brosna)

Subs: T Hickey (Desmonds) for D Murphy (38); J McGlynn (Currow) for J Buckley (39); D O’Connor (Desmonds) for D O’Sullivan (ET)

WEST KERRY: T Pierce (Annascaul); C O Muircheartaigh (Gaeltacht), D Ó Sé (Gaeltacht), J Scanlon (Annascaul); T Ó Sé (Gaeltacht), J Farrell (Annascaul), G Fitzgerald (Castlegregory); E Kennedy (Annascaul), E MacGearailt (Gaeltacht); M O’Shea (Castlegregory), E Hickson (Annascaul), J B Spillane (Castlegregory); J Hickson (Annascaul), C O’Sullivan (Lispole), J Crean (Annascaul)

Subs: L Maunsell (Castlegregory) for M O’Shea (inj 3), C Barry (Annascaul) for G Fitzgerald (13), C Silles (Castlegregory) for C Barry (38), T Cavanagh (Lispole) for L Maunsell (e/t), D Higgins (Lispole) for J Farrell (e/t), A Kelliher (Castlegregory) for J Crean (e/t).

Referee: E Walsh (Rathmore).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.