Feale prevail as Ó Sé injury a worry for Kingdom

Feale Rangers 0-13 West Kerry 0-10

Tomás Ó Sé went down under a hefty challenge early in the second-half and though he resumed after treatment, he eventually gave way with a “recurring back injury”.

Brother Marc was not on the teamsheet after picking up a shoulder injury in last Sunday’s defeat to Cork while Feale Rangers could offer no reason for the Paul Galvin “no-show” as he was listed No 10 on the team.

It was Rangers’ other Kerry players Anthony Maher, Brian McGuire and Paddy Curtin who shone and ensured that Rangers would be going the direct route.

West Kerry were poor up front where only James Crean looked dangerous. Despite a good second-half from Michael O’Shea, James Scanlon and Jason Hickson, they kicked too many wides to pull the game out of the fire.

Rangers dominated the opening half thanks to the outstanding Maher and Damien Somers at midfield and led 0-9 to 0-6 at half-time with Kerry forward Paddy Curtin kicking 0-4. James Crean had kicked three super points for the West but they lost this game in the opening 20 minutes of the second half when they kicked eight wides. Rangers, with Brian McGuire splendid at full-back and Shane Quinn excellent in goals secured the win with breakaway points from Denis Walsh and Conor Cox.

Scorers for Feale Rangers: P Curtin 0-5 (0-2 frees), D Walsh and M O’Connor 0-2 each, N Kennelly 0-2 (0-1 free), A Maher and C Cox 0-1 each.

West Kerry: J Hickson 0-4 (0-2 frees, 0-1 ‘45), J Crean 0-3, S Hennessy 0-2 frees, J B Spillane 0-1

FEALE RANGERS: S Quinn (Emmets); K Quirke (Duagh), B McGuire (Emmets), J Mulvihill (Moyvane); G McCarthy (Emmets), P Corridan (Finuge) , J Barry (Emmets); A Maher (Duagh), D Somers (St Senan’s); D Walsh (Emmets), M Corridan (Finuge), M O’Connor (Duagh); C Cox (Emmets), N. Kennelly (Emmets), P Curtin (Moyvane)

Subs: B Whelan (St Senan’s) for M Corridan (39 inj)

WEST KERRY: T Pierce (Annascaul), C O Muircheartaigh (Gaeltacht), D Ó Sé (Gaeltacht), J Scanlon (Annascaul) T Ó Sé (Gaeltacht), J Farrell (Annascaul), E Hickson (Annascaul); E Kennedy (Annascaul), M O’Shea (Castlegregory); Colm O’Connor (Castlegregory), J B Spillane (Castlegregory), S Hennessy (Castlegregory); J Hickson (Annascaul), C O’Sullivan (Lispole), J Crean (Annascaul)

Subs: D Clifford (Annascaul) for T Ó Sé (inj, 43), K Teahan (Castlegregory) for C O’Sullivan (52); M MacGearailt (Gaeltacht) for C O’Connor (56); E McGearailt (Gaeltacht) for E Kennedy (57)

Referee: D Casey (Scartaglin).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.