Counihan resists temptation to tinker for Kingdom clash

Cork boss Conor Counihan has kept faith with the side that claimed the honours in last month’s league final against Mayo for their 2012 championship opener against Kerry in Sunday’s Munster SFC semi-final.

Despite not opting to make any changes in personnel, Counihan has altered the positioning of his team. Aidan Walsh reverts to midfield with Donncha O’Connor filling the full-forward berth, while Pearse O’Neill moves to centre-forward. Patrick Kelly starts at left half-forward with Paul Kerrigan moving to left corner-forward.

Meath manager Seamus McEnaney has drafted Donal Keoghan and Stephen Bray into his team for their Leinster SFC quarter-final against Carlow on Sunday afternoon. Keoghan comes in at right corner-back with Seamus Kenny ruled out through injury. A defensive reshuffle sees Bryan Menton go to corner-back, Donncha Tobin start at half-back, Shane McAnarney switch to centre-back and Mickey Burke move to half-back. Bray will lead the attack at centre-forward as Graham Reilly lines up alongside him at left half-forward, while Brian Meade shifts to midfield. Mark Collins is the player to drop to the bench.

Mickey Harte has made six changes for Tyrone’s Ulster championship opener against Armagh on Sunday from the side that lost out in the Division 2 league final to Kildare in April. Pascal McConnell comes into goal for Jonathan Curran while Justin McMahon will start at full-back as Conor Gormley moves to centre-back and Peter Harte to wing-forward as Sean Cavanagh is out injured. There are two other defensive changes as Dermot Carlin replaces PJ Quinn at corner-back and Sean O’Neill comes in for Damian McCaul at half-back. Joe McMahon gets the nod instead of Aidan Cassidy at midfield while Martin Penrose is drafted into the attack for Niall McKenna.

Wexford manager Jason Ryan has made just the one change for their Leinster SFC quarter-final replay with Longford on Sunday. Paddy Byrne comes into the attack at right half-forward instead of Conor Carty. Ciaran Lyng is named at right corner-forward despite suffering from a groin injury that has prevented him from training this week. Team captain David Murphy, who was hospitalised in the lead up to the drawn match with blood poisoning, is still in recovery mode.

CORK (SF v Kerry): A Quirke; R Carey, M Shields, E Cadogan; P Kissane, G Canty, N O’Leary; A Walsh, A O’Connor; F Goold, P O’Neill, P Kelly; C O’Neill, D O’Connor, P Kerrigan.

MEATH (SF v Carlow): D Gallagher; D Keoghan, K Reilly, B Menton; D Tobin, S McAnarney, M Burke; C Gillespie, B Meade; A Forde, S Bray, G Reilly; B Farrell, J Sheridan, C Ward.

TYRONE (SF v Armagh): P McConnell; A McCrory, Justin McMahon, D Carlin; C McCarron, C Gormley, Sean O’Neill; Joe McMahon, C Cavanagh; R McNabb, M Donnelly, P Harte; M Penrose, O Mulligan, Stephen O’Neill.

WEXFORD (SF v Longford): A Masterson; N Murphy, G Molloy, R Tierney; A Flynn, B Malone, L Chin; D Waters, R Quinlivan; P Byrne, S Roche, B Brosnan; C Lyng, E Bradley, R Barry.

CARLOW (SF v Meath): T O’Reilly; P Murphy, C Lawlor, B Kavanagh; K Nolan, S Redmond, T Bolger; Brendan Murphy, D Foley; Brian Murphy, P Reid, E Ruth; JJ Smith, S Gannon, D St Ledger.

More in this section

courtsgaaplace: kildareperson: counihanperson: conor counihanperson: aidan walshperson: donncha o’connorperson: pearse o’neillperson: patrick kellyperson: paul kerriganperson: seamus mcenaneyperson: donal keoghanperson: stephen brayperson: keoghanperson: seamus kennyperson: bryan mentonperson: donncha tobinperson: shane mcanarneyperson: mickey burkeperson: brayperson: graham reillyperson: brian meadeperson: mark collinsperson: mickey harteperson: pascal mcconnellperson: jonathan curranperson: justin mcmahonperson: conor gormleyperson: peter harteperson: sean cavanaghperson: dermot carlinperson: pj quinnperson: seán o’neillperson: damian mccaulperson: joe mcmahonperson: aidan cassidyperson: martin penroseperson: niall mckennaperson: jason ryanperson: paddy byrneperson: ciaran lyngperson: david murphyperson: corkperson: a quirkeperson: r careyperson: m shieldsperson: e cadoganperson: p kissaneperson: g cantyperson: n o’learyperson: a walshperson: a o’connorperson: f gooldperson: p o’neillperson: p kellyperson: c o’neillperson: d o’connorperson: p kerriganperson: d gallagherperson: d keoghanperson: k reillyperson: b mentonperson: d tobinperson: s mcanarneyperson: m burkeperson: c gillespieperson: b meadeperson: a fordeperson: s brayperson: g reillyperson: b farrellperson: j sheridanperson: c wardperson: tyroneperson: p mcconnellperson: a mccroryperson: d carlinperson: c mccarronperson: c gormleyperson: c cavanaghperson: r mcnabbperson: m donnellyperson: p harteperson: m penroseperson: o mulliganperson: stephen o’neillperson: a mastersonperson: n murphyperson: g molloyperson: r tierneyperson: a flynnperson: b maloneperson: l chinperson: d watersperson: r quinlivanperson: p byrneperson: s rocheperson: b brosnanperson: c lyngperson: e bradleyperson: r barryperson: t o’reillyperson: p murphyperson: c lawlorperson: b kavanaghperson: k nolanperson: s redmondperson: t bolgerperson: brendan murphyperson: d foleyperson: brian murphyperson: p reidperson: e ruthperson: jj smithperson: s gannonperson: d st ledgerevent: munster sfc semievent: leinster sfc quarter-finalevent: ulsterevent: division 2 leagueevent: leinster sfcorganisation: corkorganisation: mayoorganisation: kerryorganisation: carloworganisation: tyroneorganisation: armaghorganisation: wexfordorganisation: longfordorganisation: conororganisation: sforganisation: meath
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up