Donnellan: Tribe can’t be one-man show

Cyril Donnellan knows Galway can’t depend solely on Joe Canning if they are to pick up some championship silverware this year.

While defender David Collins is out of Sunday’s Leinster quarter-final against Westmeath with an ankle injury picked up against Clare on Monday, Donnellan expects the Portumna man, who hurt his shoulder in the same challenge game, to start.

“We can’t be over-reliant on any one player in the backs or the forwards.

“We are trying to find a balanced team and wherever they are going to play him to balance the team around that.

“He’s definitely a massive bonus wherever he plays.”

Pat Gilroy has named 12 of the Dublin team that started last year’s All-Ireland final victory for their Leinster SFC quarter-final against Louth.

Philip McMahon, Eamonn Fennell and Kevin McManamon all came on as substitutes in the decider against Kerry and start on Sunday.

Longford manager Glenn Ryan has opted to go with the same personnel that started against Laois for Sunday’s provincial last eight game against Wexford.

Liam Dunne has included four championship debutants for Wexford’s Leinster SHC quarter-final clash against Offaly — Willie Devereux, Stephen Murphy, Shaun Murphy and Jack Guiney.

Laois senior hurlers are unchanged from the side which beat Carlow a fortnight ago for their Leinster clash with Dublin on Saturday.

DUBLIN (SF v Louth): S Cluxton; P McMahon, R O’Carroll, M Fitzsimons; J McCarthy, G Brennan, K Nolan; E Fennell, M D MacAuley; B Cullen, A Brogan, P Flynn; D Connolly, K McManamon, B Brogan.

LONGFORD (SF v Wexford): D Sheridan; D Brady, B Gilleran, D Reilly; C Smith, M Quinn, S Mulligan; B McElvanney, J Keegan; D Barden, P Barden, N Mulligan; D McElligott, B Kavanagh, S McCormack.

LEITRIM (SF v London): C McCrann; J Glancy, C Egan, P Maguire; C Clarke, F McMorrow, W McKeon; D Sweeney, D Lowe; P McGowan, E Mulligan, P Brennan; R Cox, J Glancy, A Croal.

LONDON (SF v Leitrim): E Byrne; P Sherry, S McVeigh, D McGreevy; T Gaughan, S Mulligan, S Hannon; L Mulvey, M Gottsche; S Kelly, K O’Leary, M Mullins; P McGoldrick, E O’Neill, L Colfer.

WEXFORD (SH v Offaly): E Martin; W Devereux, K Rossiter, S Murphy; D Redmond, M O’Hanlon, C Kenny; S Murphy, D Lyng; G Sinnott, E Quigley, PJ Nolan; R Jacob, J Guiney; P Morris.

LAOIS (SH v Dublin): E Reilly; C Coonan, D Maher, G Burke; C Dunne, M Whelan, M McEvoy; J Walsh, S Hanlon; S Maher, B Dunne, W Hyland; T Fitzgerald, N Foyle, D O’Mahoney.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: LondonPerson: DonnellanPerson: Cyril DonnellanPerson: Joe CanningPerson: David CollinsPerson: Pat GilroyPerson: Philip McMahonPerson: Eamonn FennellPerson: Kevin McManamonPerson: Glenn RyanPerson: Liam DunnePerson: Willie DevereuxPerson: Stephen MurphyPerson: Shaun MurphyPerson: Jack GuineyPerson: S CluxtonPerson: P McMahonPerson: R O’CarrollPerson: M FitzsimonsPerson: J McCarthyPerson: G BrennanPerson: K NolanPerson: E FennellPerson: M D MacauleyPerson: B CullenPerson: A BroganPerson: P FlynnPerson: D ConnollyPerson: K McManamonPerson: B BroganPerson: D SheridanPerson: D BradyPerson: B GilleranPerson: D ReillyPerson: C SmithPerson: M QuinnPerson: S MulliganPerson: B McElvanneyPerson: J KeeganPerson: D BardenPerson: P BardenPerson: N MulliganPerson: D McElligottPerson: B KavanaghPerson: S McCormackPerson: C McCrannPerson: J GlancyPerson: C EganPerson: P MaguirePerson: C ClarkePerson: F McMorrowPerson: W McKeonPerson: D SweeneyPerson: D LowePerson: P McGowanPerson: E MulliganPerson: P BrennanPerson: R CoxPerson: A CroalPerson: E ByrnePerson: P SherryPerson: S McVeighPerson: D McGreevyPerson: T GaughanPerson: S HannonPerson: L MulveyPerson: M GottschePerson: S KellyPerson: K O’LearyPerson: M MullinsPerson: P McGoldrickPerson: E O’NeillPerson: L ColferPerson: E MartinPerson: W DevereuxPerson: K RossiterPerson: S MurphyPerson: D RedmondPerson: M O’HanlonPerson: C KennyPerson: D LyngPerson: G SinnottPerson: E QuigleyPerson: PJ NolanPerson: R JacobPerson: J GuineyPerson: P MorrisPerson: E ReillyPerson: C CoonanPerson: D MaherPerson: G BurkePerson: C DunnePerson: M WhelanPerson: M McEvoyPerson: J WalshPerson: S HanlonPerson: S MaherPerson: B DunnePerson: W HylandPerson: T FitzgeraldPerson: N FoylePerson: D O’MahoneyEvent: Leinster quarter-finalEvent: All-Ireland finalEvent: Leinster SFC quarterEvent: Leinster SHC quarterOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: LouthOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: LongfordOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: CarlowOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: SFOrganisation: Leitrim
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.237 s