Canty in against Mayo

Graham Canty comes back into the Cork side for Sunday’s Allianz Division 1 football league decider against Mayo in Croke Park having missed last Sunday week’s semi-final victory over Down.

Canty’s return at centre-back sees Eoin Cadogan switch back to the inside line of the defence at left corner-back in the only change made by manager Conor Counihan to the team that comprehensively defeated the Mourne men in their last success.

Defender Eoin O’Mahony is ruled out of action after he sustained a broken hand in a club game last weekend while attacker Ciarán Sheehan is also absent despite the fact he is closing in on a return to competitive action after being sidelined since tearing his cruciate ligament in last July’s Munster final in Killarney.

There are 10 survivors in the Rebels line-up from the team that defeated Mayo in their corresponding league final fixture two years ago with goalkeeper Alan Quirke, Cadogan, Canty, Pearse O’Neill and Colm O’Neill the new players into the side.

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has rung the changes for their Division 2 football league final meeting with Kildare on Sunday in Croke Park from the team that proved too strong for Monaghan in their last league encounter. Jonathan Curran replaces Pascal McConnell in goal as Harte continues his rotation policy in that position.

In defence full-back Justin McMahon is ruled out through injury which sees Conor Gormley come in as a replacement while Damian McCaul is picked at left half-back as Ryan McMenamin drops to the bench. Aidan Cassidy is drafted in at midfield instead of Michael Murphy and he’ll partner Colm Cavanagh.

In attack, as Kyle Coney has been ruled out for the seasion with a groin injury, Stephen O’Neill moves to the corner and Niall McKenna will come in at the edge of the square.

CORK (SF v Mayo): A Quirke; R Carey, M Shields, E Cadogan; N O’Leary, G Canty, P Kissane; P O’Neill, A O’Connor; F Goold, P Kelly, P Kerrigan; C O’Neill, A Walsh, D O’Connor.

TYRONE (SF v Kildare): J Curran; A McCrory, C Gormley, PJ Quinn; C McCarron, P Harte, D McCaul; A Cassidy, C Cavanagh; R McNabb, Mark Donnelly, S Cavanagh; O Mulligan, N McKenna, S O’Neill.

Subs: P McConnell, C Clarke, C Gervin, P Hughes, J Lafferty, Joe McMahon, R McMenamin, S McNally, P McNiece, S McNulty, M Murphy.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.