McDonnell and Cadogan return for Cork

Stephen McDonnell and Eoin Cadogan have been brought back into the Cork defence by manager Jimmy Barry-Murphy for Sunday’s Division 1A hurling league tie against Kilkenny in Páirc Uí Chaoimh, as his team attempts to bounce back from last Sunday’s defeat to Galway.

McDonnell and Cadogan return for Cork

McDonnell was ruled out with a toe injury last week while Cadogan was lining out for the Cork senior football side but they have now been named at full-back and centre-back respectively. The third change in personnel sees teenage star Darren Sweetnam named at midfield where he will partner Lorcan McLoughlin as Sean Óg Ó hAilpín switches to right half-back. Damien Cahalane, John Gardiner and Tom Kenny all drop to the bench.

Cork’s conquerors last Sunday, Galway, have also rung the changes for their tie in Pearse Stadium against Waterford in Division 1A. Iarla Tannian and James Regan make way with Cyril Donnellan coming into the half-forward line while last year’s All-Ireland U21 winning captain Barry Daly starts at full-forward.

Tipperary manager Declan Ryan has made two personnel changes from the team that defeated Waterford for their clash with Dublin tomorrow night in Division 1A. Thomas Stapleton replaces John O’Keeffe at right half-back while Gearoid Ryan is drafted in at right half-forward instead of Johnny Ryan.

Diarmuid ‘Gizzy’ Lyng returns to the Wexford senior hurling squad for the first time in 18 months for next Sunday’s crucial Allianz Division 1B hurling league game with Clare in Ennis. Lyng who missed last year’s league and championship as he was abroad travelling, returned home last month and has since been training with the squad. The St. Martin’s clubman is included in the substitutes for this clash inCusack Park.

The side shows two changes in personnel from the side that lost to Limerick. Both Barry Kehoe and Jim Berry drop to the bench with Rathnure teenager Jack Guiney, who will be making his debut, and John Leacy coming into the team.

Shane Dowling has been brought into the Limerick team for their Division 1B tie against Offaly instead of Thomas O'Brien at right half-forward.

CORK (SH v Kilkenny): D Óg Cusack; S O’Neill, S McDonnell, B Murphy; S Óg Ó hAilpín, E Cadogan, W Egan; L McLoughlin, D Sweetnam; C Lehane, P Cronin, C Naughton; J Coughlan, P O’Sullivan, P Horgan.

Subs: M Coleman, A Nash, D Cahalane, J Gardiner, S White, M O’Sullivan, B Corry, C Joyce, R Cashman, T Kenny, C O’Sullivan.

GALWAY (SH v Waterford): J Skehill; D Connolly, D Collins, G O’Halloran; N Donohue, F Moore, J Coen; D Burke, A Smyth; C Cooney, N Burke, C Donnellan, D Hayes, B Daly, B Burke.

WEXFORD (SH v Clare): N Breen; J Tonks, M O’Hanlon, K Rossiter; D Redmond, D Stamp, C Kenny; E Quigley, P J Nolan; J Guiney, J Leacy, H Kehoe; R Jacob, S Banville, D O’Keeffe.

TIPPERARY (SH v Dublin): D Gleeson; D Maher, P Curran, M Cahill; T Stapleton, C O’Mahony, Padraic Maher; B Maher, J Woodlock; G Ryan, N McGrath, P Bourke; J O’Neill, B O’Meara, S Bourke.

LIMERICK (SH v Offaly): N Quaid; S Walsh, R McCarthy, T Condon; W McNamara, D O'Grady, G O'Mahony; P Browne, J Ryan; S Dowling, D Breen, C Allis; G Mulcahy, N Moran, M Ryan.

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingPlace: Páirc Uí ChaoimhPlace: Pearse StadiumPlace: EnnisPlace: ParkPerson: McDonnellPerson: CadoganPerson: Stephen McDonnellPerson: Eoin CadoganPerson: Jimmy Barry-MurphyPerson: Darren SweetnamPerson: Lorcan McLoughlinPerson: Seán Óg Ó hAilpínPerson: Damien CahalanePerson: John GardinerPerson: Tom KennyPerson: Iarla TannianPerson: James ReganPerson: Cyril DonnellanPerson: Barry DalyPerson: Declan RyanPerson: Thomas StapletonPerson: John O’KeeffePerson: Gearoid RyanPerson: Johnny RyanPerson: Diarmuid ‘Gizzy’ LyngPerson: LyngPerson: St. MartinPerson: Barry KehoePerson: Jim BerryPerson: Jack GuineyPerson: John LeacyPerson: Shane DowlingPerson: Thomas O'BrienPerson: D Og CusackPerson: S O’NeillPerson: S McDonnellPerson: B MurphyPerson: S Og O hAilpinPerson: E CadoganPerson: W EganPerson: L McLoughlinPerson: D SweetnamPerson: C LehanePerson: P CroninPerson: C NaughtonPerson: J CoughlanPerson: P O’SullivanPerson: P HorganPerson: M ColemanPerson: A NashPerson: D CahalanePerson: J GardinerPerson: S WhitePerson: M O’SullivanPerson: B CorryPerson: C JoycePerson: R CashmanPerson: T KennyPerson: C O’SullivanPerson: GalwayPerson: J SkehillPerson: D ConnollyPerson: D CollinsPerson: G O’HalloranPerson: N DonohuePerson: F MoorePerson: J CoenPerson: D BurkePerson: A SmythPerson: C CooneyPerson: N BurkePerson: C DonnellanPerson: D HayesPerson: B DalyPerson: B BurkePerson: N BreenPerson: J TonksPerson: M O’HanlonPerson: K RossiterPerson: D RedmondPerson: D StampPerson: C KennyPerson: E QuigleyPerson: P J NolanPerson: J GuineyPerson: J LeacyPerson: H KehoePerson: R JacobPerson: S BanvillePerson: D O’KeeffePerson: D GleesonPerson: D MaherPerson: P CurranPerson: M CahillPerson: T StapletonPerson: C O’MahonyPerson: Pádraic MaherPerson: B MaherPerson: J WoodlockPerson: G RyanPerson: N McGrathPerson: P BourkePerson: J O’NeillPerson: B O’MearaPerson: S BourkePerson: LimerickPerson: N QuaidPerson: S WalshPerson: R McCarthyPerson: T CondonPerson: W McNamaraPerson: D O'GradyPerson: G O'MahonyPerson: P BrownePerson: J RyanPerson: S DowlingPerson: D BreenPerson: C AllisPerson: G MulcahyPerson: N MoranPerson: M RyanOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: All-Ireland U21Organisation: DublinOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: SH
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.269 s