Corca Dhuibhne edge out wasteful Tralee for final spot

Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne’s golden season continues.

The Munster Colleges senior football championsremain in the hunt for Frewen Cup honours after overcoming wasteful Tralee CBS in a thrilling semi-final at Ballyricard yesterday.

Tralee CBS looked the better side for long periods, thanks to outstanding centre-forward Jack Savage and two excellent midfielders in Eamon McAllen and Barry Walsh. But the introduction of injured senior star Barra Ó Suilleabhain and sub Conor Geaney’s goal in the 45th minute with his first touch changed the game with ten minutes remaining (2-8 to 0-11).

Tralee CBS rallied when Gearóid Savage was hauled down by Cian Ó Murchu for a penalty but his brother Jack could only blaze the resultant spot kick over the bar.

The ‘Green’ continued to attack and a point from Gary Roche closed the gap to the minimum.

However, poor decision making by Tralee cost them at least an equaliser in the final three minutes.

The first-half was just shaded by Tralee CBS, who led 0-10 to 1-6 at half time, Jack Savage (0-5) and Kyle Fitzgibbon (0-3) being their top marksman, while Seamus Ó Muircheartaigh with three points from frees, the lively Cathal Ó Banbaire with two excellent efforts from play, along with a 29th minute Brian Ó Raoghaill effort, kept ChorcaDhuibhne in touch.

The West Kerry side settled the better in the third quarter with Conchuir Ó Súilleabhain, Tomas Ó Sé and Barra Ó Súilleabhain outstanding, but with Ó Muircheartaigh unusually off target vital frees, it was left to young substitute Geaney to save the day. Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne face the winners of St Flannan’s Ennis/ Clonmel CBS semi-final.

Scorers for Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne: C Ó Geanai 1-1, B Ó Raoghaill 1-0S Ó Muircheartaigh 0-3 frees, C Ó Bambaire 0-3, S Ó Banbaire 0-1.

Scorers for Tralee CBS: J Savage 0-7 (0-3 frees, 0-1 pen), K Fitzgibbon 0-3, B Walsh, M O’Donnell and G Roche 0-1 each. POBALSCOIL CHORCA DHUIBHNE: L De Bailis, B Ó Beaglaoich, C Ó Suilleabhain, C Ó Murchu, C Ó Gairbhia, M Ó Flatharta, M O Conchuir, T Ó Se, Colm Ó Beaglaoich, S Ó Muircheartaigh, B Ó Raoghaill, Caoimhín O Beaglaoich, S Ó Banbaire, C O Banbaire, R Ó Sé

Subs: B Ó Suilleabhain for C Ó Gairbhia,C Ó Geanai for S Ó Banbaire, T de Brun for Com Ó Beaglaoich.

TRALEE CBS: T Culloty, A Molloy, E Teahan, C Sheridan, C Coffey, M Walsh, J Morgan, E McAllen, R Walsh, C Flanagan, J Savage, K Fitzgibbon, M O’Donnell, G Savage, I Parker.

Subs: G Roche for C Flanagan, D Hartnett for J Morgan, D Byrnes for M O’Donnell.

Referee: Sean Joy (Laune Rangers).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.