GMIT take early control and sound title warning

In the first 15 minutes of this Fitzgibbon Cup clash at the DCU Sportsground yesterday, GMIT displayed the form that has many rating them dark-horses for glory this year.

By then they’d scored 1-9 without reply, DCU unable to cope with the Connacht side’s pace, power and ruthlessness in front of goal.

GMIT corner-forwards James Liddy and Niall Mannion did most of the early damage and were assisted out the field by Jimmy Gelston’s accuracy.

DCU had the strong breeze, but it did little to help them make inroads against a physically powerful GMIT defence backboned by Galway’s Ger Mahon and Tipperary’s DonaghMaher.

It looked like a total rout was on the cards when DCU defender Peter Gill was red-carded late in the first-half when his team trailed 1-12 to 0-4. But in adversity DCU found courage.

Despite playing against the elements and with the numerical handicap, they played some gutsy and determined hurling in the second-half thanks to the example set by sub Tadgh ÓhUallachain, centre-back JJ Lennon and centre-forward Wes O’Brien.

Their increased efforts were never going to amount to more than a damage limitation exercise though and GMIT’s diminishing returns had a lot to do with the fact they visibly took their foot off the gas.

Their management may not be all that happy with that. but, judged on the quality they produced in the first 15 minutes, it’ll take a good side to beat them.

Scorers for GMIT: J Gelston 0-10 (7f, 1’65), J Liddy 1-2, N Mannion 0-4, K Greene 0-3, B Regan 0-2, W McNamara, J Hanrahan, K Feeney all 0-1.

Scorers for DCU: E Byrne 0-4, E Kent 0-4 (all frees), W O’Brien 0-2, A Cash, J Cullen both 0-1.

GMIT: J Keane (Galway); G O’Halloran (Galway), D Maher (Tipperary), B Mulrooney (Offaly); C Forde (Offaly), G Mahon (Galway), S Coughlan (Offaly); K Waters (Offaly) J Hanrahan (Galway); K Greene (Galway), W McNamara (Limerick), J Gelston (Galway); N Mannion (Galway), C O’Donnell (Clare), J Liddy (Clare).

Subs: B Regan (Galway) for J Liddy (45), M Donoghue (Galway) for C Forde (48), C O’Brien (Galway) for N Mannion (49), K Feeney (Mayo) for W McNamara (55), A Lynch (Clare) for J Hanrahan (59)

DCU: B McCormack (Tipperary); C Woodgate (Dublin), W Eviston (Tipperary), J Whelan (Wexford); O O’Maoileidigh (Dublin) JJ Lennon (Kilkenny), P Gill (Tipperary); Q Lynch (Galway), A Cash (Wexford); C Foley (Dublin), W O’Brien (Cork), E Byrne (Carlow); S Griffith (Wexford), E Kent (Wexford), J Cullen (Wexford).

Subs: S Kelly (Carlow) for C Woodgate (10), T O’hUallachain (Waterford) for S Griffith (ht).

Referee: B Kelly (Westmeath)

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up