Cummins the ace in easy Sligo victory

This Sigerson Cup tie at Gurteen Ennis was as one-sided as the scoreline suggests.

IT Tralee, who arrived at the venue late, always played second fiddle to a Sligo side led by Danny Cummins and Eugene Keating in attack. Points from Keating, Cummins (2) and David Givney had the Connacht outfit four clear before Barry O’Hehir opened the Tralee account from a free in the 11th minute. But with Givney and Eugene Mullen dominating midfield and their defence in mean mood, Sligo forged 0-7 to 0-1 clear by the 18th minute. Their opponents hit back with four unanswered scores from O’Hehir (2) Mikey Brennan and Keith Conway before Gary Gaughan tacked on another Sligo point. Sligo’s half-time advantage (0-8 to 0-5) would have been greater but for a missed penalty by Seamus Ryder in injury time.

Sligo IT boss John Kent’s side hit eight unanswered points in the third quarter while Tralee’s woes were compounded by the dismissal of Eoin Murray for a second yellow card. Tralee IT’s full-forward Damien Kelly stopped the rot with two points but there was no doubting the winner’s dominance. Martin Dunne wrapped up the game with a late goal for Sligo.

Scorers for Sligo IT: D Cummins (0-8), E Keating (0-4) 3 f’s, M Dunne (1-0), D Givney (0-3), P Garvey (0-2), G Gaughan (0-1).

Scorers for IT Tralee: B O’Hehir (0-3) 2 f’s, D Kelly (0-2), M Brennan, K Conway (0-1) each.

SLIGO IT: A Faherty (Glaway); R Donovan (Sligo), K Keane (Mayo), J Kelly (Sligo); D Maye (Sligo), D Geraghty (Mayo), D Drake (Mayo); D Givney (Cavan), E Mullen (Sligo); P Garvey (Roscommon), E Keating (Cavan), G Gaughan (Sligo); A Croal (Leitrim), S Ryder (Fermanagh), D Cummins (Galway).

Subs: M McHugh (Donegal) for Croal (half-time), K Sweeney (Sligo) for Ryder (half-time), R McNally (Monaghan) for Maye (48), M Dunne for Gaughan (53).

IT TRALEE: P O’Sullivan (Kerry); E Murray (Meath), S Brosnan (Kerry), D Larkin (Wexford); AJ O’Connor (Cork), J Scully (Kerry), K Conway (Kildare); R Deane (Cork), G O’Driscoll (Kerry); S Carroll (Kerry), B O’Grady (Kerry), M Brennan (Kerry); A O’Donoghue (Kerry), D Kelly (Kerry), B O’Hehir (Louth).

Subs: B Poff (Kerry) for O’Grady (half-time), D Tiernan (Cavan) for Deane (44), I Corbett (Limerick) for O’Donoghue (50), C Sullivan for O’Connor (54), P Seoige for Larkin (57).

Referee: M Rock (Clare).

More in this section

courtsgaafootballplace: gurteen ennisplace: cavanplace: sligoplace: roscommonplace: leitrimplace: fermanaghplace: monaghanperson: cumminsperson: traleeperson: danny cumminsperson: eugene keatingperson: keatingperson: david givneyperson: barry o’hehirperson: givneyperson: eugene mullenperson: o’hehirperson: mikey brennanperson: keith conwayperson: gary gaughanperson: seamus ryderperson: john kentperson: eoin murrayperson: damien kellyperson: martin dunneperson: d cumminsperson: e keatingperson: m dunneperson: d givneyperson: p garveyperson: g gaughanperson: b o’hehirperson: d kellyperson: m brennanperson: k conwayperson: a fahertyperson: glawayperson: r donovanperson: k keaneperson: j kellyperson: d mayeperson: d geraghtyperson: d drakeperson: e mullenperson: a croalperson: s ryderperson: m mchughperson: k sweeneyperson: ryderperson: r mcnallyperson: mayeperson: gaughanperson: p o’sullivanperson: e murrayperson: s brosnanperson: d larkinperson: aj o’connorperson: j scullyperson: r deaneperson: g o’driscollperson: s carrollperson: b o’gradyperson: a o’donoghueperson: b poffperson: o’gradyperson: d tiernanperson: deaneperson: i corbettperson: o’donoghueperson: c sullivanperson: o’connorperson: p seoigeperson: larkinperson: m rockevent: sigerson cuporganisation: sligoorganisation: connachtorganisation: donegalorganisation: croalorganisation: kerryorganisation: wexfordorganisation: corkorganisation: kildareorganisation: louthorganisation: cavanorganisation: limerick
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up