Kerry lead way in Ring awards

CHAMPIONS Kerry lead the way on this year’s Christy Ring Cup Champion 15 with four players rewarded for their performances on the side that claimed honours in last June’s final against Wicklow in Croke Park.

Defensive duo James Godley and Jason Casey, along with attacking sharpshooters Shane Nolan and Darragh O’Connell, have been chosen for their performances for John Meyler’s side.

Beaten finalists Wicklow have three representatives through Eamonn Kearns, Stephen Kelly and Andy O’Brien, while John Doran andTommy Murphy are chosen fromKildare. Down duo Eoin Clarke and Brendan Ennis, Armagh’s Cathal Carvill, Derry’s Óisín McCloskey, Mayo’s Shane Morley and Shane McGann of Meath complete the line-up.

London have four representatives on the Nicky Rackard Champion 15 through Cork pair Michael Walsh and Martin Finn, Clare’s Colm Forde and Aidan Ryan from Galway, while champions Donegal have four players on the Lory Meagher Champion 15.

Christy Ring Cup Champion 15: J Godley (Kerry), J Casey (Kerry), S Nolan (Kerry), D O’Connell (Kerry), E Kearns (Wicklow), S Kelly (Wicklow), A O’Brien (Wicklow), J Doran (Kildare), T Murphy (Kildare), E Clarke (Down), B Ennis (Down), C Carvill (Armagh), O McCloskey (Derry), S Morley (Mayo), S McGann (Meath).

Nicky Rackard Champion 15: M Walsh (London), C Forde (London), A Ryan (London), M Finn (London), D Dunne (Louth), S Callan (Louth), A Wallace (Louth), K Raymond (Sligo), T Cawley (Sligo), J Coyne (Roscommon), I Delaney (Roscommon), A McInerney (Fingal), P Daly (Fingal), P Treanor (Monaghan), R Meegan (Monaghan).

Lory Meagher Champion 15: C Breathnach (Donegal), E McDermott (Donegal), N Campbell (Donegal), J Boyle (Donegal), D Maguire (Tyrone), M Grogan (Tyrone), R O’Neill (Tyrone), R Winters (Tyrone), S O’Hanlon (Warwickshire), C Brough (Warwickshire), L Morgan (South Down), E McGuinness (South Down), F Bannon (Fermanagh), M Lane (Leitrim), E Donnellan (Longford).

More in this section

courtsgaafootballplace: croke parkplace: meathplace: galwayplace: kildareplace: londonplace: louthplace: roscommonplace: monaghanplace: donegalplace: south downperson: james godleyperson: jason caseyperson: shane nolanperson: darragh o’connellperson: john meylerperson: eamonn kearnsperson: stephen kellyperson: andy o’brienperson: john doranperson: murphyperson: eoin clarkeperson: brendan ennisperson: cathal carvillperson: oisin mccloskeyperson: shane morleyperson: shane mcgannperson: nicky rackardperson: michael walshperson: martin finnperson: clareperson: colm fordeperson: aidan ryanperson: j godleyperson: kerryperson: j caseyperson: s nolanperson: d o’connellperson: e kearnsperson: wicklowperson: s kellyperson: a o’brienperson: j doranperson: t murphyperson: e clarkeperson: b ennisperson: c carvillperson: o mccloskeyperson: s morleyperson: s mcgannperson: m walshperson: c fordeperson: a ryanperson: m finnperson: d dunneperson: s callanperson: a wallaceperson: k raymondperson: t cawleyperson: j coyneperson: i delaneyperson: a mcinerneyperson: p dalyperson: p treanorperson: r meeganperson: e mcdermottperson: n campbellperson: j boyleperson: d maguireperson: m groganperson: r o’neillperson: r wintersperson: s o’hanlonperson: c broughperson: l morganperson: e mcguinnessperson: f bannonperson: m laneperson: e donnellanevent: ring awardsevent: christy ring cup championevent: lory meagher championevent: lory meagher champion 15organisation: wickloworganisation: armaghorganisation: derryorganisation: donegalorganisation: downorganisation: mayoorganisation: sligoorganisation: fingalorganisation: tyroneorganisation: warwickshireorganisation: longford

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.