Moore the merrier as Rathduff take title

RATHDUFF took the plaudits in the first Allianz Sciath na Scol final at Páirc Uí Rinn yesterday, the DF4 decider.

They led by 1-1 to 0-0 at half time yet it was not an easy win, with Ballygarvan unlucky not to have made an impression on the scoreboard, good defending denying them.

Jack Moore struck the first blow for Rathduff when he got a touch to a Darragh Kenny delivery in the fourth minute to send the ball to the net, and then Cathail O’Sullivan extended the advantage before half time.

Moore’s second goal, from a Luke Mostyn St Ledger delivery, gave them a cushion. Only for Richard O’Leary in the Bally goal it could have been more, but O’Sullivan rounded off the win with a late goal.

Scorers for Rathduff: J Moore 2-0, C O’Sullivan 1-1.

RATHDUFF: S Jones; S Lehane, A Kiely; D Kenny, P Barry Murphy; O Brady, M O’Riordan; C Dineen, C O’Sullivan; L Mostyn St Ledger, J Moore. Sub: M McSweeney.

BALLYGARVAN: R O’Leary; C McGreal, E Callanan; P Sexton, C Mackey; A Lyons, M O’Sullivan; M Healy, D O’Connor; K Buckley, M Cotter. Sub used: M Roche.

Referee: D Ó Drisceoil.

Dunderrow 1-4 Rathduff 1-3

A GOAL three minutes from time by Sarah Murphy was key in Dunderrow claiming the DGF4 title.

With the sides locked at 0-3 after Dunderrow had come back well in the second half, Murphy’s shot just crept over the line after goalkeeper Courtney Bermingham got a hand to it, and then an excellent point from Síomha Dolan gave them a four-point lead.

While the excellent Sophie Sheridan pulled a goal back for Rathduff, ultimately Dunderrow held out to cap an excellent fightback, Rathduff having led by 0-3 to 0-1 at half time.

Sheridan, Hannah Ahern and Sinéad Buckley all scored for Rathduff in the opening half, Orla Kelly responding for Dunderrow. After good saves from keeper Laura Neville kept Dunderrow in it, they levelled through Dolan and Juliette Cronin before the strong finish.

Scorers for Dunderrow: S Murphy 1-0, S Dolan 0-2, J Cronin (f), O Kelly 0-1 each.

Scorers for Rathduff: S Sheridan 1-1, H Ahern, S Buckley 0-1 each.

DUNDERROW: C Bermingham; R Cotter, N O’Leary; K Callaghan, H Ahern; K Kenny, S Sheridan; A Barry, S Buckley; R Allen, E Bruton.

Sub: S Murphy.

RATHDUFF: L Neville; A O’Leary, D Andron; E Stokes, C O’Dwyer; S Neville, J Cronin; A Walsh, S Dolan; D Tyner, O Kelly.

Sub: E O’Donovan.

Scoil Phádraig Naofa, Bandon 2-3 Cloyne 1-1

ELLIS ASEMOTA and Ioan Madalin were the stars for Scoil Phádraig Naofa of Bandon in the F6 final.

While they fell behind to a first-minute free from Cloyne’s Glenn O’Sullivan, once Bandon got on top, they dominated, with the pace of Asemota always an outlet. He goaled in the eighth minute after good work by Gary O’Shea and added a point before Madalin did likewise, and at half-time, it was 1-2 to 0-1.

Asemota’s second point increased the advantage upon the resumption before Dylan O’Callaghan’s nice handpass set up Madalin for a well-taken goal to increase the lead to eight points.

Cloyne never gave up and Ian Farmer could have goaled but for a Szymon Smigalski save before Mikey Cahill found the net.

Scorers for Scoil Phádraig Naofa, Bandon: E Asemota 1-2, I Madalin 1-1.

Scorers for Cloyne: M Cahill 1-0, G O’Sullivan 0-1f.

SCOIL PHÁDRAIG NAOFA, BANDON: S Smigalski; B O’Connor, D Hurley; D O’Donovan, B Donegan, C O’Driscoll; M El Sonbokhty; N Daly, G O’Shea, D O’Callaghan; I Madalin, E Asemota.

CLOYNE: K Higgins; J Holmes, L Sugrue; K O’Sullivan, N Lewis, M Cahill; D O’Sullivan; E Motherway, E Healy, I Farmer; G O’Sullivan, J O’Gorman.

Sub: S Keane.

Referee: T Hallihan.

Watergrasshill 1-2 Cloyne 0-3

THE last Sciath na Scol football title of the year, the GF5 section, went to Watergrasshill thanks to a fine first-half performance.

With the wind in the opening period, Cliona Cronin converted a free in the second minute before Ellen Fitzgerald followed it up with a wonderful individual goal.

Cloyne tried to respond with Fay Cahill and Meadhbh Minihane going close. While Watergrasshill created more chances before half-time, they were unable to take them, with Cloyne full-back Tracy Casey making a great block on a Minihane shot.

It was 1-1 to 0-0 at half time, but a good long-range effort from Aileen McGrath gave Cloyne hope early in the second half. But that was cancelled out by Sophie Murray. Cloyne laid siege and points from Aileen McGrath and Cahill (free) had them to within two scores with a minute left.

Scorers for Watergrasshill: E Fitzgerald 1-0, C Cronin (f), R Atkinson 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cloyne: M Minihane, A McGrath, F Cahill (0-1f) 0-1 each.

WATERGRASSHILL: H Dalton; C O’Flynn, H Fitzgerald; O Lehane, M Sheehan; C Cronin, A Quinn; R Atkinson, C Barrett; E Fitzgerald, J Field.

CLOYNE: T McCarthy; T Casey, C Murphy; E Coady, E Murphy; A McGrath, F Cahill; A O’Dwyer, S Murray; O Murray, M Minihane. Subs: E O’Neill, R Gilroy.

Referee: T Hallihan.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Páirc Uí RinnPerson: MoorePerson: RathduffPerson: BallygarvanPerson: Jack MoorePerson: Darragh KennyPerson: Cathail O’SullivanPerson: Luke Mostyn St LedgerPerson: Richard O’LearyPerson: BallyPerson: O’SullivanPerson: J MoorePerson: S JonesPerson: S LehanePerson: A KielyPerson: D KennyPerson: P Barry MurphyPerson: O BradyPerson: M O’RiordanPerson: C DineenPerson: C O’SullivanPerson: L Mostyn St LedgerPerson: M McSweeneyPerson: R O’LearyPerson: C McGrealPerson: E CallananPerson: P SextonPerson: C MackeyPerson: A LyonsPerson: M O’SullivanPerson: M HealyPerson: D O’ConnorPerson: K BuckleyPerson: M CotterPerson: M RochePerson: D Ó DrisceoilPerson: Sarah MurphyPerson: MurphyPerson: Courtney BerminghamPerson: Síomha DolanPerson: Sophie SheridanPerson: SheridanPerson: Hannah AhernPerson: Sinead BuckleyPerson: Orla KellyPerson: Laura NevillePerson: DolanPerson: Juliette CroninPerson: S MurphyPerson: S DolanPerson: J CroninPerson: O KellyPerson: S SheridanPerson: H AhernPerson: S BuckleyPerson: C BerminghamPerson: R CotterPerson: N O’LearyPerson: K CallaghanPerson: K KennyPerson: A BarryPerson: R AllenPerson: E BrutonPerson: L NevillePerson: A O’LearyPerson: D AndronPerson: E StokesPerson: C O’DwyerPerson: S NevillePerson: A WalshPerson: D TynerPerson: E O’DonovanPerson: Scoil Phádraig NaofaPerson: BandonPerson: CloynePerson: ELLIS ASEMOTAPerson: Ioan MadalinPerson: Glenn O’SullivanPerson: AsemotaPerson: Gary O’SheaPerson: MadalinPerson: Dylan O’CallaghanPerson: Ian FarmerPerson: Szymon SmigalskiPerson: Mikey CahillPerson: E AsemotaPerson: M CahillPerson: GPerson: S SmigalskiPerson: B O’ConnorPerson: D HurleyPerson: D O’DonovanPerson: B DoneganPerson: C O’DriscollPerson: M El SonbokhtyPerson: N DalyPerson: G O’SheaPerson: D O’CallaghanPerson: K HigginsPerson: J HolmesPerson: L SugruePerson: K O’SullivanPerson: N LewisPerson: D O’SullivanPerson: E MotherwayPerson: E HealyPerson: I FarmerPerson: G O’SullivanPerson: J O’GormanPerson: S KeanePerson: T HallihanPerson: Cliona CroninPerson: Ellen FitzgeraldPerson: Fay CahillPerson: Meadhbh MinihanePerson: Tracy CaseyPerson: MinihanePerson: Aileen McGrathPerson: Sophie MurrayPerson: CahillPerson: E FitzgeraldPerson: C CronEvent: Allianz Sciath na Scol finalEvent: Sciath na Scol football titleOrganisation: DF4Organisation: DunderrowOrganisation: BandonOrganisation: WatergrasshillOrganisation: GF5
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.