St Brigid’s up the ante to power past Horeswood

A SIX point victory hid a multitude of St Brigid’s sins as the Dublin champions turned in a storming finale to book their Leinster Club SFC semi-final spot at Parnell Park, Dublin, yesterday.

Trailing by three points after 35 minutes, a turn-up appeared eminently possible. But the mark of class was stamped all over the Blanchardstown/Castleknock outfit as they ultimately delivered a 1-10 scoring burst in the last third to seal victory.

Corner-forward Philly Ryan did most to advance their cause, scoring six points from play and setting up Paddy Andrews for the game defining 56th minute goal. Andrews finished with 1-3 and, for the second weekend running, was a free spirited, potent presence in attack, particulary in the second-half.

The win secures Brigid’s a semi-final spot against Portlaoise — the seven time champions — in a fortnight. It also preserves their proud record of winning every game they’ve ever played in the provincial championship, a total of five now.

Yet the margin of victory flattered them and, in truth, the game hung in the balance up until Andrews calmly stroked his goal home four minutes from time.

Brigid’s were excellent at midfield, where Barry Cahill and John O’Loughlin formed a powerful inter-county axis, and their forwards gave arguably their best display yet. But they looked vulnerable at the back any time Horeswood got at them and the Wexford champions were good value for their three goals, one for each member of the full-forward line.

County man PJ Banville started at corner-forward for Horeswood despite ankle ligament damage and gave Sean Murray a torrid time. Banville scored one goal, set up the other two and Murray was hauled ashore early in the second-half.

Scorers for St Brigid’s: P Andrews 1-3; P Ryan 0-6; K Kilmurray 0-4; K Darcy 0-2; Mark Cahill (1f), C Mullins 0-1, L McCarthy (1 45), B Cahill & O McCann 0-1 each.

Horeswood: David Shannon 1-7 (0-3f); D Murphy 1-0; PJ Banville 1-0; C Deely 0-1.

ST BRIGID’S: S Supple; S Murray, C Freeman, G Norton; A Daly, Martin Cahill, G Kane; B Cahill, J O’Loughlin; C Mullins, Mark Cahill, K Kilmurray; P Ryan, K Darcy, P Andrews.

Subs.: D Plunkett for Murray 38, L McCarthy for Mullins 41, O McCann for Mark Cahill 50, C Doyle for Freeman 53

HORESWOOD: S O’Hanlon; S Collins, J Hearn, D Larkin; E Shiely, L O’Brien, B Hearn; T Howlin, P Murphy; N Collins, C Deely, Darren O’Reilly; D Murphy, David Shannon, PJ Banville.

Subs.: M O’Hanlon for P Murphy 41, Darren Shannon for O’Reilly 43, D Hart for Shiely 46, Derek O’Reilly for David Larkin 50, J Wall for Declan Murphy 58.

Referee: D Brazil (Offaly).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up