Lacey likely to be the odd man out for first Test

KARL LACEY is expected to be the odd man out for tomorrow’s International Rules first test.

The Donegal man is the stand-by player after being brought out to Australia as a precaution for Laois’ Colm Begley, who would have remained in Dublin had his club, Parnells, won their county championship game last weekend.

Lacey could yet feature in the match-day squad if either Meath’s Kevin Reilly or Darren Hughes of Monaghan don’t overcome their respective ankle and knee injuries they picked up at training on Tuesday evening.

However, despite both sitting out a session in the Whitten Oval yesterday morning, manager Anthony Tohill believes the pair will be fit to play on Friday.

Referees Maurice Deegan (Laois) and David Coldrick (Meath) are the GAA-nominated match officials with one likely to be involved in each of the tests.

Meanwhile, tomorrow’s game will be the first International Rules test to be played under a roof.

Poor weather is being forecasted for tomorrow evening in Melbourne but the roof will be closed regardless.

IRELAND: Stephen Cluxton (Dublin — captain/goalkeeper), Ciaran McKeever (Armagh — vice captain), Pearce Hanley (Brisbane Lions), Eoin Cadogan (Cork), Kieran Donaghy (Kerry), Leighton Glynn (Wicklow), Finian Hanley (Galway), Emmet Bolton (Kildare), Darren Hughes (Monaghan), Tadhg Kennelly (Sydney Swans), Steven McDonnell (Armagh), Kevin McKernan (Down), Joe McMahon (Tyrone), Neil McGee (Donegal), Michael Murphy (Donegal), Kevin Reilly (Meath), Aidan Walsh (Cork), Zach Tuohy (Carlton), Colm Begley (Laois), Brendan Murphy (Carlow), Eamon Callaghan (Kildare), Tommy Walsh (Sydney Swans), Patrick Kelly (Cork). Stand-by: Karl Lacey (Donegal)

AUSTRALIA: Brad Green (Melbourne — captain); James Kelly (Geelong Cats — vice-captain); Andrew Swallow (North Melbourne — vice-captain); Richard Douglas (Adelaide Crows), James Frawley (Melbourne), Robbie Gray (Port Adelaide), Shaun Grigg (Richmond), Jake King (Richmond), Ben McGlynn (Sydney Swans), Trent McKenzie (Gold Coast Suns), Stephen Milne (St Kilda), Angus Monfries (Essendon), Robin Nahas (Richmond), Mark Nicoski (West Coast), Mitch Robinson (Carlton), Liam Shiels (Hawthorn), Zac Smith (Gold Coast Suns), Matthew Suckling (Hawthorn), Colin Sylvia (Melbourne), Jack Trengove (Melbourne), Bernie Vince (Adelaide Crows), Callan Ward (GWS Giants), David Wojcinski (Geelong Cats), Easton Wood (Western Bulldogs).

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: AustraliaPlace: DublinPlace: MonaghanPlace: Whitten OvalPlace: MelbournePerson: LaceyPerson: Karl LaceyPerson: Colm BegleyPerson: Kevin ReillyPerson: Darren HughesPerson: Anthony TohillPerson: Maurice DeeganPerson: David ColdrickPerson: Stephen CluxtonPerson: Ciaran McKeeverPerson: Pearce HanleyPerson: Eoin CadoganPerson: Kieran DonaghyPerson: Leighton GlynnPerson: Finian HanleyPerson: Emmet BoltonPerson: Tadhg KennellyPerson: Steven McDonnellPerson: Kevin McKernanPerson: Joe McMahonPerson: Neil McGeePerson: Michael MurphyPerson: Aidan WalshPerson: Zach TuohyPerson: Brendan MurphyPerson: Eamon CallaghanPerson: Tommy WalshPerson: Patrick KellyPerson: Brad GreenPerson: James KellyPerson: Andrew SwallowPerson: Richard DouglasPerson: James FrawleyPerson: Robbie GrayPerson: Shaun GriggPerson: Jake KingPerson: Ben McGlynnPerson: Trent McKenziePerson: Stephen MilnePerson: Angus MonfriesPerson: Robin NahasPerson: Mark NicoskiPerson: Mitch RobinsonPerson: Liam ShielsPerson: Zac SmithPerson: Matthew SucklingPerson: Colin SylviaPerson: Jack TrengovePerson: Bernie VincePerson: Callan WardPerson: David WojcinskiPerson: Easton WoodEvent: International Rules testOrganisation: Laois’Organisation: MeathOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: GAAOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: ArmaghOrganisation: Brisbane LionsOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: WicklowOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: KildareOrganisation: MonaghanOrganisation: Sydney SwansOrganisation: DownOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: CarltonOrganisation: CarlowOrganisation: MelbourneOrganisation: Geelong CatsOrganisation: North MelbourneOrganisation: Adelaide CrowsOrganisation: Port AdelaideOrganisation: RichmondOrganisation: Gold Coast SunsOrganisation: St KildaOrganisation: EssendonOrganisation: West CoastOrganisation: HawthornOrganisation: GWS GiantsOrganisation: Western Bulldogs
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.199 s