Murdock and O’Hare blast Burren to glory

DOWN champions Burren retained their title as they finished easy winners against Clonduff at Páirc Esler on Saturday night.

Jason Brown and Conor Óg O’Hagan gave Clonduff the early lead. But the reigning champions took control and scored four unanswered points to lead 0-7 to 0-3 at the interval.

Clonduff had a dream start to the second half when midfielder Arthur McConville had the ball in the Burren net within 16 seconds. But they did not score again until Brown goalled in stoppage time. In the meantime Burren, with Kevin McKernan leading by example, took complete control.

Goals by Sean Murdock and Donal O’Hare made them full value for the win.

Scorers for Burren: D O’Hare 1-5, J McGovern 0-3, S Murdock 1-0, K McKiernan 0-2, S McArdle, C McGovern, C Murdock, A McArdle 0-1.

Scorers for Clonduff: A McConville, J Brown 1-1 each, C Óg O’Hagan 0-1.

BURREN: C Murdock; R McGovern, D McCartan, D McEntee; G McCartan, C McGovern, K McCartan; C Toner, A McArdle; C McGovern, S Murdock, E Toner; D O’Hare, J McGovern, S McArdle. Subs: E McCartan for E Toner, P Poland for Conal McGovern, P O’Rourke for Ciaran McGovern, Byrne for C Toner, A Higgins for A McArdle.

CLONDUFF: N Trainor; J McPolin, P McConville, E O’Reilly; G McDonald, S O’Hagan, M McPolin; D O’Hagan, A McConville; P McPolin, A Carr, J Fegan; P McGreevy, C Óg O’Hagan J Brown. Subs: K Trainor for J McPolin, S McGreevy for McDonald.

Referee: Brendan Rice.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.