Deeney and Mulhall deliver for Wicklow

SECOND half goals from Méadbh Deeney and Lucy Mulhall secured the TG4 All-Ireland Ladies JFC title for Wicklow at Croke Park on Sunday.

The Garden County captured a first All-Ireland crown since the 1990 victory over London with an impressive eight-point replay victory over New York at GAA HQ.

Wicklow, managed by Dominic Leech, led 0-6 to 0-4 at half-time and after threatening to score goals in the first half, they finally managed to find the net in the second period.

It was a tale of two penalties as Deeney coolly converted her 36th minute effort while New York’s Emma Clarke missed ten minutes later.

For a spell in the second half, New York looked on course for a revival but their hopes were dashed five minutes from time when Mulhall scored a sensational second goal after collecting a magnificent long pass from sub Laurie Ahern. Wicklow survived the second half sin-binning of full-back Catríona Byrne, who was unable to resume due to injury, against a New York team that registered 13 wides, seven of those amassed after half-time.

Captain Mary O’Rourke led by example for New York with three points from play but dangerous corner forward Clarke was restricted to three points from frees.

Deeney and Mulhall, who saw an early goal chance saved by Alison Leyden, led the attacking charge for Wicklow while Niamh Carroll also impressed with three points from play.

Scorers for New York: Mary O’Rourke 0-3, E Clarke 0-3f, M De Búrca & M Brennan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Wicklow: L Mulhall 1-3 (0-1f), M Deeney 1-2 (1-0 pen), N Carroll 0-3, C Deeney & S Miley 0-1 each.

NEW YORK: A Leyden; L Lilly. TA McCullagh, J Garcia; C McBrien, C Brady, J Monaghan; L McKeon, Á O’Dwyer; Mary O’Rourke, K Roche, C Traynor; E Clarke, I Mullarkey, M De Búrca.

Subs: M Brennan for Roche (39), R O’Reilly for Traynor (44), C McElroy for Lilly (55), M McVann for McBrien (57), Mary T. O’Rourke for Mullarkey (58).

WICKLOW: E Miley; J Miley, C Byrne, A Heffernan; L Fusciardi, C McKeon, N Kelly; J Kinch, L Gilbert; A.M. Doran, C Deeney, M Deeney; L Hogan, L Mulhall, N Carroll.

Subs: S Miley for Kelly (h.t.), A Ní hAnnaidh for Byrne (47), L Ahern for Hogan (50), C Walsh for J Miley (57), G Norton for Doran (57).

Referee: M Doherty (Wexford).

More in this section

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.