Glenswilly tops again

GLENSWILLY became Donegal senior champions for the second time in their history when Michael Murphy scored all but a point in yesterday’s final win.

The defining score was an almost trademark goal from the Donegal skipperMurphy on 42 minutes. A booming ball into St Michael’s territory from Joe Gibbons found Murphy, who almost ripped Ciaran Gallagher’s net with a belting shot.

The sides went in level a 0-4 apiece at half-time with Christy Toye and McFadden helping the Creeslough-Dunfanaghy based outfit back on terms after a nervy opening. Murphy pointed three and James Pat McDaid was also on the mark. Murphy took control after the break and scored an excellent point when surrounded by three St Michael’s defenders before sealing it with a 45.

Scorers for Glenswilly: M Murphy 1-7 (3fs, 1 45), JP McDaid 0-1.

Scorers for St Michael’s: C McFadden (1f), C Toye 0-3 each, M McElhinney, S Coyle (f), D McLaughlin 0-1 each.

GLENSWILLY: P O’Donnell; R McDaid, E Ward, R Crawford; J Gibbons, JP McDaid, B McDaid; G McFadden, N Gallagher; K McFadden, C Bonner, C Kelly; D McGinley, M Murphy, L Kelly.

Subs: B Farrelly for Bonner (ht), M McGinley for McGinley (42), C Bonner for C Kelly 46, J McFadden for L Kelly (46), G McGrenra for K McFadden (56).

ST MICHAEL’S: C Gallagher; B Rodden, S Doak, S Black; P Witherow, M McGinley, M Gallagher; C Gallagher, M McElhinney; D McLaughlin, A McFadden, C Toye; C McFadden, B McLaughlin, R McLaughlin.

Subs: Andrew Kelly for Black (41), S Coyle for C Gallagher (56).

Referee: Jimmy White (Killybegs).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up