Burke’s goal inspires Corofin

COROFIN, denied a first ever three-in-a-row of Galway SFC titles last year, advanced to the semi-finals of this year’s title race with a replay win over neighbours Claregalway at Tuam Stadium on Saturday evening.

Now they are just 60 minutes away from a fourth successive county final after coming good in the second half of this quarter-final.

A goal by Justin Burke after collecting a long delivery from Gary Sice just four minutes into the second half paved the way for Corofin’s win.

There was not a lot between the sides in the opening half but late points from Alan O’Donovan and Alan Burke saw Corofin open up an interval lead of 0-7 to 0-4.

Claregalway needed a big start to the second half but the goal from Burke was a huge blow. Corofin then pushed on from there and put the game out of reach of a Claregalway side that featured former Mayo players David Heaney and James Nallen.

Last year’s runners-up outscored their opponents by 1-4 to 0-1 to lead by 1-11 to 0-5 after 40 minutes.

Claregalway staged a late rally and were rewarded with an injury-time goal from Galway senior goalkeeper Adrian Faherty.

Scorers for Corofin: A O’Donovan 0-6 (4fs), J Burke 1-0, G Higgins, M Lundy 0-2 each, A Burke, G Delaney, M Comer, G Sice, D Burke 0-1 each.

Scorers for Claregalway: B Moran 0-4fs, A Faherty 1-0, E O’Connell 0-2 (1f), P McGuinness, M Evans, B Day, R O’Flynn (0-1)

COROFIN: D Morris; P Kelly, K Fitzgerald, C Silke; A Burke, G Delaney, M Comer; D Burke, G Higgins; G Sice, D Burke, K McGrath; M Lundy, J Burke, A O’Donovan.

Subs: A Lawless for Silke, J Canney for Sice, A Donnellan for Daithí Burke, K Murphy for Comer.

CLAREGALWAY: B Donoghue; S Cunniffe, D Heaney, A Watson; C Glynn, C Costello, M Evans; J Nallen, B Cullinane; E O’Connell, J Garrett, R O’Flynn; B Moran, A Faherty, P McGuinness.

Subs: J P O’Connell for Garrett, B Loughlin for Glynn, B Day for O’Flynn.

Referee: B Kinneavy.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up